The very best Coax for Tv

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,590
Points
113
My Location
uk
Hi, what is the very best coax we could buy for our hobby please, I have been freebanding on CB and made my own antenna and wanted to get the best coax for it, I ended up with westflex £50 for 20mtr,

I did find this calculator loss link for ham radio, surely coax loss will apply for tv cable ? what is the best cable we could buy please

http://arrg.us/pages/Loss-Calc.htm
 

Captain Jack

Retired human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,826
Reaction score
8,014
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Err... Depends. Webro 125 type cable is the most expensive but only if you really need it.

Or there's fibre.

In most cases, a Webro type 100 is more than fine for modest distances.
 

wod

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
4,213
Reaction score
238
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
1m channel master, jaeger smr1224, Inverto black ultra twin, technomate tm-1500ci, broken receiver vantage x221ci, New additions Skybox F5s and technomate tm-5402 HD arriving soon.
My Location
yorkshire
Anything under 30m just use some wf100.

Wf125 is recommended for cable runs over 40 metres.

I use twin wf100 and its fine but my cable run is only about 14 metres anyway.

If you use wf125 then don't connect it direct to receiver as its heavy cable and could damage the f connection on receiver and they also use different size connectors.
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,590
Points
113
My Location
uk
Thanks lads, this is the difference between good cable and not so good with Ham radio, and I just thought they may be a good thick better coax for tv, we talk about tweaking this tweaking that we must not forget the importance of coax quality ?.
DSCN6157.JPG
 

Riverblue

Regular Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
598
Reaction score
419
Points
63
Age
62
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Near Brighton
I've used WF 100 for everything that I've done, nothing over 25m. I also use cablecon compression f connectors with a waterproof o ring insert
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,315
Reaction score
1,631
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
WF100 is a good quality cable and excellent for both IF, satellite and RF, TV/FM. The original CT100 was a very good quality with lots of copper in it and performed very well, but has not been made for years and in fact had a hollow dialectric, as opposed to most modern cables, which have foam and are much more resistant to folding damage. Beware any modern cable labelled as CT100, as it will often be a very poor Chinese made cable, often not complying with the RG6 specification, for example, the core being less than 1mm.
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
18,034
Reaction score
4,051
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
Is it for the CB or the TV?

TV and satellite co-ax has an impedance or 75 ohms. If CB radios are anything like amateur radio rigs then they will need 50 ohm cable. Frankly, at 27MHz signal loss is not really something to worry about but if you wanted to then something like Westflex 103 would be good.

EDIT

Ha! I see that Martin has already mentioned Westflex 103 while I was composing my reply.
 

timo_w2s

Retired Mod
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,359
Reaction score
2,883
Points
113
Website
www.timo.me.uk
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
Another WF100 user here. I just buy it on 100m rolls and keep it in stock for when it's needed. I don't know where it all goes, but I'm always running out...
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,590
Points
113
My Location
uk
Many thanks, I am quite sure I am using both mentioned coax on 1 run, I just wondered if anything better was out there, once I start work on my next project I just want to give it the best
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,039
Reaction score
387
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
Northants, Midlands UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
The old Raydex CT100 was a high grade cable. I often use a Triax TX100 type (MPN: 370752), a little tougher than WF100 with losses around the same.
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,104
Reaction score
8,687
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors

A nonymous

Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2006
Messages
3,586
Reaction score
913
Points
113
Trust you to lower the tone :-doh

When was the last time you saw somebody buy a copy of Fiesta. I don't think its even still in print. :-lol
 

sonnetpete

Grumpy Old Retired Moderator and quiz inquisitor..
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
8,954
Reaction score
3,497
Points
113
Age
73
Website
wordpress.com
My Satellite Setup
Laminas 1.2M fibre dish with an IBU, on a Clarke Tech USALS motor, covering 57E - 24.5W to an Octagon SX88. Displayed on a 20" Dyon LED TV.

Seperate 80 cm dish on 28E with a Humax Freesat for SWMBO.
Free Sat V8 meter. Sony Bravia 46" LCD, Sony BluRay and Home Cinema.
My Location
Normandy, France
Trust you to lower the tone

Well he could have suggested Razzle......incidentally Fiesta is still in print...
 

Fisty McB

Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2012
Messages
440
Reaction score
644
Points
93
My Satellite Setup
See my signature...
My Location
County Tyrone, N. Ireland
You can get 75ohm coax cable from Webro with even better specifications than wf125 but honestly for almost every domestic installation, overkill would be putting it mildly. The only time you might even consider going above wf125 for a satellite install would be if you couldn't locate the dish less than 75 metres from the receiver, and even then a sloping amplifier placed somewhere along the feed might do in many such situations. Such better spec cable would be used in the likes of trunking either in large buildings like blocks of flats or business estates to keep losses minimised on very long runs even with amplifiers in place, or where long underground runs are needed and fibre for whatever reason isn't an option.

IIRC Webro's highest spec 75ohm coax cable is wf340. It's not cheap either.
 

aceb

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
1,537
Reaction score
842
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Prof Tuner 7301 /
1.25m Gibertini + Inverto B.Ultra/C1W, Moteck H180, 68.5E-67W Ku/C-Band /
1.8m Precision PF + ESX241/Inverto Black Pro, 66E-63W Ku/C-band /
2.4m Fortec Star+Titanium C1W/Pride plate, 49E-58W
My Location
Sussex
The run from my 1.8 is about 35m down the garden and the best solution for me was to use CT125 RBS. It's cheap, has good spec and can take direct burial, it's a pig to route indoors but fortunately that isn't an issue here. There was an obvious improvement on marginal signals when I switched from the previously installed RG6 .
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
18,034
Reaction score
4,051
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
You can get 75ohm coax cable from Webro with even better specifications than wf125 ... IIRC Webro's highest spec 75ohm coax cable is wf340. It's not cheap either.

At which point you might be considering one of Heliax's offerings.

And even more "not cheap either"!
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,590
Points
113
My Location
uk
At which point you might be considering one of Heliax's offerings.

And even more "not cheap either"!

Blimey the Heliax's is pricey :eek:, thank you lads I will take a good look at the options above :).
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
35,766
Reaction score
8,642
Points
113
Age
60
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
At which point you might be considering one of Heliax's offerings.

And even more "not cheap either"!

For quality, I always put a bit of CT233 in risers when I was mucking about with SMATV systems, and CT167 for the secondary taps.
 

A nonymous

Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2006
Messages
3,586
Reaction score
913
Points
113
I think if i had to cover more than 50m i'd just go for fibre Optic. You can buy pre-terminated lengths fairly cheaply these days.

Nano
 
Top