Advice Needed Tracking Issue: 1.2m Dish

Laser

Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2011
Messages
503
Reaction score
305
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
Dr HD F15, OS mio + 4K, Octagon SF8008, Octagon SX88+. TM 5402HD M3. .Channel Master 1.20 Ku and C Band. 1.1 Triax Dish
My Location
Berkshire
Hello,

As in my profile I have 2 main dishes. A CM 1.2 metre and a Triax 1.1m. Both Motorised.
All works fine. Had the installation checked late last year to make sure both were what I would call dead on the arc. Both basically can go from 53 east round to 22 west. Next door's house is in the way to go further round.
Have a fixed dish on Hispasat 95% SQ

However I do seem to get odd results with frequencies that can't be received. New LNBs etc and cable checked. Not lived her too long so it's a brand new (18 months) installation. Professionally installed.

My problem occurs with the CM 1.2 mainly. From 26east thru' to 13 east some transponders are down to only 60% SQ or less!! Whereas as an example on 7.2 west they are upto 80% SQ. The dish is not out of line as it's been checked and double checked. I have tried different receivers But the same result. New cable run which is short too.

My conclusion (if anyone agrees) that around 300-400 yards away are electric pylons/wires which the dish looks through. As you move round lower to the east or over onto Nilesat the problem disappears....As a CM 1.2m is a good high gain dish. It may have strange readings as these wires buzz and are I am sure are interfering with the signal. On Astra 19.2east the signal on that type of dish should be generally 80%-90% I would guess.

I wouldn't want to live under the wires but didn't notice them when viewing the house. Pressure to sign on the dotted line at the time!!!!

Do they block certain frequencies and make them un watchable ???. I think this is the problem. Short of moving again there isn't a great deal to be done...
Any thoughts welcome please....
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,068
Reaction score
8,661
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Very unlikely indeed that the power lines present any problem whatsoever.

Instead, it seems to me that your dish mount is leaning slightly forward or slightly back - despite the belief that the tracking is correct. The symptom of a chunk of arc being relatively poor is consistent with an imperfect mount orientation.
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
23,987
Reaction score
4,014
Points
113
Age
69
My Satellite Setup
Has gone to a good home elsewhere
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
Yes without knowing more specific frequencies it is difficult to say more than Tivu already has. I attach a diagram showing possible slight misalignments. If however you are experiencing this problem on specific frequency ranges, for example
Satellite Transponders adjacent to 11532 MHz and 12480 MHz then this is probably DECT telephone interferencearcadjustjp.jpg
 

Laser

Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2011
Messages
503
Reaction score
305
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
Dr HD F15, OS mio + 4K, Octagon SF8008, Octagon SX88+. TM 5402HD M3. .Channel Master 1.20 Ku and C Band. 1.1 Triax Dish
My Location
Berkshire
Many thanks for your replies.
I will get another installer to check it. I will post here what happens.

Again. Thank you
 

Mickha

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
5,969
Reaction score
882
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
1.2M Channel Master, 1224 motor, VU+ Duo 2
My Location
North West
Can you please post some of the satellites, frequencies, channels, polarity and S/R, of the channels you are experiencing problems with.
 

Laser

Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2011
Messages
503
Reaction score
305
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
Dr HD F15, OS mio + 4K, Octagon SF8008, Octagon SX88+. TM 5402HD M3. .Channel Master 1.20 Ku and C Band. 1.1 Triax Dish
My Location
Berkshire
Not sure if posts do get deleted from here? Was one earlier this week about dish set up. A very useful drawing etc....
Any chance of re posting it please??
Am sure it was on this Azerspace topic.
Thanks in advance...
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
50,665
Reaction score
11,135
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Posts very rarely get deleted Laser. Which diagram are you looking for?
 

Laser

Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2011
Messages
503
Reaction score
305
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
Dr HD F15, OS mio + 4K, Octagon SF8008, Octagon SX88+. TM 5402HD M3. .Channel Master 1.20 Ku and C Band. 1.1 Triax Dish
My Location
Berkshire
Thank you Analoguesat.
Can't remember who it was earlier last week posted a diagram of an arc and possible problems I am having with dish alignment.
It looked very useful. Have looked back through and can't find it.

Have 2 main systems. One I believe is spot on. The other a 1.2 C/M dish I am sure is not right.
Can get in good conditions 7west 75-80% SQ. Not when wet though! Whereas on 19.2 Astra and 13east I struggle. Some transponders only 50% one not at all!!! No trees!
Then 36/42 east/45east perfect.
Needs alignment checked. Had the chap back and he says it's OK. But the other system is spot on.
Heard of Purplesat.. Might give them a try?

I do realise this should be in the forum for setting up motorised systems.

Appreciate your help... But do want to get sorted. Thank you
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
50,665
Reaction score
11,135
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Ive split these posts off the Azersat topic.

Something is obviously not right for you arent tracking the arc properly.

There are assorted diagrams for helping you set your arc up here in this Dish Setup subsection
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,068
Reaction score
8,661
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Not sure if posts do get deleted from here? Was one earlier this week about dish set up. A very useful drawing etc....
Any chance of re posting it please??
Am sure it was on this Azerspace topic.
Thanks in advance...


No, it is here

Hang on and I'll merge the two Topics.

Edit: Done. See earlier for the infamous diagram (Post #3)!
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,590
Points
113
My Location
uk
Yes. Have changed them over. Same results. Both Technomate 5402HD.
Many thanks for your help though

Ok pal just a thought.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
50,665
Reaction score
11,135
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Cheers Tivu - I got distracted by Arnie as the Terminator :-rofl2
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,068
Reaction score
8,661
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
No problem, AS: Now I've got to figure out what martin's Post just above yours relates to! I suspect it went into one of the merged Threads just as I was tinkering ............
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,590
Points
113
My Location
uk
I did not want to clog 46e up tivu so I posted my reply here
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,068
Reaction score
8,661
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Well it seems we've lost a bit of continuity, but at least the crux of Laser's issue is now all in one Topic: Let's just hope he finds us! :D
 

Laser

Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2011
Messages
503
Reaction score
305
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
Dr HD F15, OS mio + 4K, Octagon SF8008, Octagon SX88+. TM 5402HD M3. .Channel Master 1.20 Ku and C Band. 1.1 Triax Dish
My Location
Berkshire
Thank you all
 
Top