Triax td78 big enough for 5e europe bss plus hotbird 13.3e?

bureaucrazy

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
planning future installation of satellite TV
My Location
east of england
Hi, this is my first system so I am new to all this. I have spent a lot of time but have not got a definitive answer on whether the TD78 is big enough for my proposed system.

I plan to set up the dish with the triax multi-lnb attachment with the dish/lnb1 centred on the sirius/astra 5e with the hotbird lnb2 off to the side.

I want to use quattro lnbs so I can distribute the signals to 5 rooms in my house via a multiswitch.

The reason I want this setup for 5E is so that I can receive LTV world:
Astra 4A 4.8°E 12380 H DVB-S
MPEG-2
3/4
Europe BSS

I am in East Anglia if that makes any odds.

Also, why is the Astra 4A satellite referred to by so many different names? e.g. 5E/4.8E/sirius, etc?

Will the signal be significantly affected by using a multiswitch? If so, do I really need a bigger dish? Just walking around today I saw a "viasat" dish on someones house pointing south which did not look all that big (probably under 70cm). The next size up TD88 would look pretty ugly, so I want to avoid if possible.

Thanks in advance...

Robbo

Retired Mod
Reaction score
Website
www.mbcsatellites.co.uk
My Satellite Setup
TM6800HD, TM1000, TM600 Linux,TM2200 motor, Channel Master 1.2m motorised, TD110 dish Meter=Satlook Micro+G2 NIT
My Location
Gravesend,Kent,UK
Viasat needs a a bigger dish as some TPs are on the Nordic beam. You should be fine with the Europe Beam. Actually you could probably split the difference between 13E and 4.8E for the focus, see what works best.

Different names, as different satellites have been at that position,

bureaucrazy

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
My Location
east of england
Thanks for your quick answer. I'm not looking to get any Nordic channels, only LTV World.