Turksat versus Hellasat...

Piltdownpaul

No.1 Spike Milligan Fan
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
2,009
Reaction score
685
Points
113
Age
52
My Satellite Setup
Skybox F3,Icecrypt S3500HDCCI, Technomate TM3000D,TM5400Ci Super, Samsung HD HDD Freesat Box,60cm dish for freesat, TD88 dish on a Skybox F3 57E to 45W.
My Location
South Leicestershire (Fleckney)
So last weekend as usual playing up the ladder trying to further my satellite tally and i managed to get turksat locked around 50%. Surprised me as i tried for hellast 1st and couldnt get it . Looking at the footprint hellasat should is beamed over west europe so my question is .. Is Hellasat sending a weaker signal or is it more likely ive misaligned the lnb?
 

fergyc

Regular Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2010
Messages
984
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Age
28
My Satellite Setup
VU+ Duo with ViX and OSCAM, Prof Revolution 7301 PCI Card, 2x Dreambox 500S, 80cm Technomate Dish with Inverto Black Ultra and TM-2600 DiSEqC Motor. Technomate TM-300D along with a few zone 1 minidishes that get moved regularly and a zone 2 for 19e a
My Location
Northumberland
I managed to pick up Hellas Sat on a 60cm fine but it's a nightmare to find. The squealer meter barely indicated it but Turksat was easier to find.
 

Piltdownpaul

No.1 Spike Milligan Fan
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
2,009
Reaction score
685
Points
113
Age
52
My Satellite Setup
Skybox F3,Icecrypt S3500HDCCI, Technomate TM3000D,TM5400Ci Super, Samsung HD HDD Freesat Box,60cm dish for freesat, TD88 dish on a Skybox F3 57E to 45W.
My Location
South Leicestershire (Fleckney)
Might have another go once my 8 way diseqc switch arrives. Stuck on a 4 way with 5w not connected. Need some decent weather too.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,109
Reaction score
9,826
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
The 42E west beam stuff is an easy catch on a 60cm dish up here. Havent tried for 39E recently though
 

Piltdownpaul

No.1 Spike Milligan Fan
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
2,009
Reaction score
685
Points
113
Age
52
My Satellite Setup
Skybox F3,Icecrypt S3500HDCCI, Technomate TM3000D,TM5400Ci Super, Samsung HD HDD Freesat Box,60cm dish for freesat, TD88 dish on a Skybox F3 57E to 45W.
My Location
South Leicestershire (Fleckney)
I'll be trying again when that round thing called the sun comes out. I didnt think i had a chance at getting turksat. I didnt scan the satellite ,just seen it had locked in so i'm not sure how much is available anyway. I'll try for hellasat again and report back.
 

Piltdownpaul

No.1 Spike Milligan Fan
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
2,009
Reaction score
685
Points
113
Age
52
My Satellite Setup
Skybox F3,Icecrypt S3500HDCCI, Technomate TM3000D,TM5400Ci Super, Samsung HD HDD Freesat Box,60cm dish for freesat, TD88 dish on a Skybox F3 57E to 45W.
My Location
South Leicestershire (Fleckney)
Tried again tonight. No hellasat,did get turksat again but only 2 transponders and 7 channels received.
 

Djskutz

Regular Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2011
Messages
224
Reaction score
4
Points
18
Age
36
My Satellite Setup
1.1m triax . technomate diseq motor, DM800hdPVR, 1.8m Channel master, technomate tm2000, ps3 DM800se, Samsung led 55inch Samrt tv, 42inch philips plamsa flatscreen tv
My Location
Co. Offaly. Ireland
im getting both sats no problem at all in the midlands ireland on my disecq tm motor aND 1.1M triax
 

Piltdownpaul

No.1 Spike Milligan Fan
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
2,009
Reaction score
685
Points
113
Age
52
My Satellite Setup
Skybox F3,Icecrypt S3500HDCCI, Technomate TM3000D,TM5400Ci Super, Samsung HD HDD Freesat Box,60cm dish for freesat, TD88 dish on a Skybox F3 57E to 45W.
My Location
South Leicestershire (Fleckney)
Yes but i'm not motorized. I have the dish centred on astra 19E and i'm getting a spread of satellites down to 5W
 

sonnetpete

Grumpy Old Moderator and quiz inquisitor..
Staff member
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
8,715
Reaction score
3,338
Points
113
Age
70
Website
wordpress.com
My Satellite Setup
Laminas 1.2M fibre dish with an IBU, on a Clarke Tech USALS motor, covering 57E - 24.5W to an Octagon SX88. Displayed on a 20" Dyon LED TV.

Seperate 80 cm dish on 28E with a Humax Freesat for SWMBO.
Free Sat V8 meter. Sony Bravia 46" LCD, Sony BluRay and Home Cinema.
My Location
Normandy, France
Is this on your 60cm? I struggle to get 39° on my Triax TD88 and it's centered on 28°. Usually Riksat is the strongest on 11146V DVB -S, FEC 3/4. However, it has quite a low S/R of 3333 so takes a while to lock on.

If you intend on trying for both 42° and 39° the LNB's will need to be narrow headed ones as the LNB's will be touching. In fact you might find it impossible to get a 3° separation on a 60cm dish.....don't let me stop you trying though!!
 

Piltdownpaul

No.1 Spike Milligan Fan
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
2,009
Reaction score
685
Points
113
Age
52
My Satellite Setup
Skybox F3,Icecrypt S3500HDCCI, Technomate TM3000D,TM5400Ci Super, Samsung HD HDD Freesat Box,60cm dish for freesat, TD88 dish on a Skybox F3 57E to 45W.
My Location
South Leicestershire (Fleckney)
Was thinking of one or the other to be honest. I'll settle on turksat probably as there is more there providing i can get more transponders- Blind search only picked up 2. I hadnt really fine tuned it with 49 to 51% quality ,so theres always hope.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
32,177
Reaction score
7,302
Points
113
Age
57
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
I cut down a tree to be certain a few months back as I was missing a lot of channels on the first few scans. The issue was in part down to one branch, but the receiver turned out to be carrying an old transponder list and even with network search it wouldn't grab the new frequencies.

It might be worth putting in a low symbol rate known transmission and peak on that, before adjusting everything outside.
 

Piltdownpaul

No.1 Spike Milligan Fan
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
2,009
Reaction score
685
Points
113
Age
52
My Satellite Setup
Skybox F3,Icecrypt S3500HDCCI, Technomate TM3000D,TM5400Ci Super, Samsung HD HDD Freesat Box,60cm dish for freesat, TD88 dish on a Skybox F3 57E to 45W.
My Location
South Leicestershire (Fleckney)
I have an excellent view low down on the horizon so i'll give that a try too.
 
Top