TV in Spain

Davegrancan

Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2009
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
47
My Satellite Setup
My landlord says he has Digital plus picking up Astra
My Location
Spain
Hi everyone, a bit new to this. My Spanish landlord has informed me that I am not allowed to install a new Dish in my rented house in Gran Canaria. He says that he has a dish for the entire complex and I only need to buy a receiver. He says the receiver I need is for Digital+ and ha says that he picks up Astra satelite. However, the only connection into the house is a normal Coaxial connection so I need to know what Box to buy and roughly what channels will I be able to pick up and how do I connect a satelite receiver to a Coaxial connection. In the Uk I has Sky so already have a sky box with me, if I connect this up will I get the Astra Digital+ channels or do I need a new box.

any info is greatly appreciated
 

Davegrancan

Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2009
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
47
My Satellite Setup
My landlord says he has Digital plus picking up Astra
My Location
Spain
Hi everyone, a bit new to this. My Spanish landlord has informed me that I am not allowed to install a new Dish in my rented house in Gran Canaria. He says that he has a dish for the entire complex and I only need to buy a receiver. He says the receiver I need is for Digital+ and ha says that he picks up Astra satelite. However, the only connection into the house is a normal Coaxial connection so I need to know what Box to buy and roughly what channels will I be able to pick up and how do I connect a satelite receiver to a Coaxial connection. In the Uk I has Sky so already have a sky box with me, if I connect this up will I get the Astra Digital+ channels or do I need a new box.

any info is greatly appreciated
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
23,987
Reaction score
4,014
Points
113
Age
69
My Satellite Setup
Has gone to a good home elsewhere
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
Welcome to the forum Davegrancan

Well firstly forget the skybox, it will receive some of the FTA stuff that match the limited SR and FEC settings put into a sky stb. As regards using a card to receive Digital Plus forget it different encryption system. Nobody on here can know what system your landlord has installed but if it is a block of flats then I assume some sort of distibuted services. You really need to get more information from him. What is behind the outlet plate for the coax lead or is it just a coax cable in the apartment
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
23,987
Reaction score
4,014
Points
113
Age
69
My Satellite Setup
Has gone to a good home elsewhere
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
Welcome to the forum Davegrancan

Well firstly forget the skybox, it will receive some of the FTA stuff that match the limited SR and FEC settings put into a sky stb. As regards using a card to receive Digital Plus forget it different encryption system. Nobody on here can know what system your landlord has installed but if it is a block of flats then I assume some sort of distibuted services. You really need to get more information from him. What is behind the outlet plate for the coax lead or is it just a coax cable in the apartment
 

Huevos

Satellite Freak
Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
6,036
Reaction score
1,273
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
57E to 58W, C-band and Ku, DVB-S2, 4:2:2 and blindscan.
My Location
38.5ºN, 0.5ºW
Davegrancan said:
He says the receiver I need is for Digital+ and ha says that he picks up Astra satelite.
There is pretty much nothing in English on Astra 1 bar a handful of news channels. Digital + costs upwards of 60€/month for the complete package. Some stuff has V.O. soundtrack in English but to be honest if you can't speak Spanish you are wasting your money.
 

Huevos

Satellite Freak
Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
6,036
Reaction score
1,273
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
57E to 58W, C-band and Ku, DVB-S2, 4:2:2 and blindscan.
My Location
38.5ºN, 0.5ºW
Davegrancan said:
He says the receiver I need is for Digital+ and ha says that he picks up Astra satelite.
There is pretty much nothing in English on Astra 1 bar a handful of news channels. Digital + costs upwards of 60€/month for the complete package. Some stuff has V.O. soundtrack in English but to be honest if you can't speak Spanish you are wasting your money.
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,067
Reaction score
8,661
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
I rather think the Astra your Landlord refers to is Astra 1 at 19.2E, not Astra 2 at 28.2E.

Digital+ is a Spanish (Surprisingly!) Pay Package broadcast from Astra 1 and from Hispasat.

_http://www.plus.es/
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,067
Reaction score
8,661
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
I rather think the Astra your Landlord refers to is Astra 1 at 19.2E, not Astra 2 at 28.2E.

Digital+ is a Spanish (Surprisingly!) Pay Package broadcast from Astra 1 and from Hispasat.

_http://www.plus.es/
 

woborny

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
1,107
Reaction score
293
Points
83
Age
51
My Satellite Setup
1.8m Dish, most Sky and Freesat receivers, 80cm on Illusion motor and Dreambox DM7025, TDT, TDT HD, Ariva 100e,
My Location
Gandia, 70kms south of Valencia, Spain
and on 19 east you cn get BBC World news and Sky news for free, reception of which I understand complies with the "EU requirement" of "you should be allowed TV in your own language throughout the EU!" albeit on a very basic level.

so he is within his right to block insatllation of any other dishes.

if you disagree speak to the EU....
 

woborny

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
1,107
Reaction score
293
Points
83
Age
51
My Satellite Setup
1.8m Dish, most Sky and Freesat receivers, 80cm on Illusion motor and Dreambox DM7025, TDT, TDT HD, Ariva 100e,
My Location
Gandia, 70kms south of Valencia, Spain
and on 19 east you cn get BBC World news and Sky news for free, reception of which I understand complies with the "EU requirement" of "you should be allowed TV in your own language throughout the EU!" albeit on a very basic level.

so he is within his right to block insatllation of any other dishes.

if you disagree speak to the EU....
 

redout

Regular Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2009
Messages
209
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
38
My Satellite Setup
1M Dish with Motek 2100,
DM 500 & DM 800HD, Vu+ Duo,
Digital+, Sky+, TDT, Saorview
My Location
Dublin
Digital+ cards are paired to the box so you need an official sub.

Go call your local installer or Digital+ and get yourself a sub.

All the installer does is bring the box and connect it to the socket on the wall.

That is how they done mine.
 

Stejc

Member
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
101
Reaction score
17
Points
18
Age
39
My Satellite Setup
DM800, Motorised Triax TD88, 45W to 39E. Digital+ HD subscription, TNTSAT HD Card.
My Location
Southport
Be careful that it is not just a single LNB on the dish. All the Digital+ channels are on vertical polarization and low band transponders so a single LNB is often used to feed a block of flats and therefore you will be limited to which transponders on Astra 1 you can get.

I think this is done on purpose by D+ to keep the costs down in installing dishes in apartment blocks. Stupid really as it means lots of FTA channels like Sky News, BBC World etc. cannot be included as a selling point of their package.
 

driver

Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2008
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
64
My Satellite Setup
gb sat reciever.
fixed dishes on 5,13,16,19 e
1 west
windows xp
My Location
southwest uk
Huevos said:
There is pretty much nothing in English on Astra 1 bar a handful of news channels. Digital + costs upwards of 60€/month for the complete package. Some stuff has V.O. soundtrack in English but to be honest if you can't speak Spanish you are wasting your money.

d+ has documentaries and film channels with original sound tracks,manually selected.majority with english option .
 

Stejc

Member
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
101
Reaction score
17
Points
18
Age
39
My Satellite Setup
DM800, Motorised Triax TD88, 45W to 39E. Digital+ HD subscription, TNTSAT HD Card.
My Location
Southport
driver said:
d+ has documentaries and film channels with original sound tracks,manually selected.majority with english option .

Plenty of sport also has English commentary, not the Premier League though this season which is on TVE. Its on D+ next season though so I think it will be in English then.
 

redout

Regular Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2009
Messages
209
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
38
My Satellite Setup
1M Dish with Motek 2100,
DM 500 & DM 800HD, Vu+ Duo,
Digital+, Sky+, TDT, Saorview
My Location
Dublin
Stejc said:
Plenty of sport also has English commentary, not the Premier League though this season which is on TVE. Its on D+ next season though so I think it will be in English then.

That is not technically correct as La 2 and Teledeporte which broadcast premier league games are carried on Digital+. So if you purchase Digital+ you do have premier league football. Them two channels are available for free on TDT (spanish freeview) also.

EDIT: Just saw the english mentioned!
 

Greg2k

Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2010
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
40
My Satellite Setup
80cm dish pointing at 19.2E with additional LNB set to pick up 28.2E, connected to a 2x1 DiSEqC switch. (Both LNBs are TWIN)

Receiver: Core2 Duo PC
My Location
Madrid, SPAIN
Stejc said:
Be careful that it is not just a single LNB on the dish. All the Digital+ channels are on vertical polarization and low band transponders so a single LNB is often used to feed a block of flats and therefore you will be limited to which transponders on Astra 1 you can get.
That is precisely right. Biggest complaint over here regarding D+ flat setups is that there is not a lot of FTA unless you get your own dish. Which is not always an option.
 
Top