Advice Needed Unwarping a dish

Captain Jack

Retired human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,832
Reaction score
8,018
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Chaps, my newly acquired Gibertini 1.5m dish is warped. There's about 1-1.5cm gap between the strings... Is it possible to successfully unwarp it? Do I just place it on a flat surface and put some weight on top (where)?

To ensure I strung it correctly, I did the same thing with my Channel Master and there was no gap.
 

Attachments

  • IMAG0600.jpg
    IMAG0600.jpg
    723.4 KB · Views: 179
  • IMAG0605.jpg
    IMAG0605.jpg
    451.6 KB · Views: 167

RimaNTSS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
5,614
Reaction score
6,103
Points
113
Age
58
My Satellite Setup
Some SAT-related hardware.
My Location
N-E from Riga
I had about 15mm gap between horizontal and vertical strings on my T90. That is what I did: placed threaded bar (18mm in diameter) behind the dish, made 2 holes in edges of the main mirror, and then applied static force to those edges till gap between H/V strings disappeared.
 

Attachments

  • P1300741 (Large).JPG
    P1300741 (Large).JPG
    285.9 KB · Views: 180
  • P1300737 (Large).JPG
    P1300737 (Large).JPG
    284.4 KB · Views: 165

Huevos

Satellite Freak
Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
6,038
Reaction score
1,277
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
57E to 58W, C-band and Ku, DVB-S2, 4:2:2 and blindscan.
My Location
38.5ºN, 0.5ºW
Chaps, my newly acquired Gibertini 1.5m dish is warped. There's about 1-1.5cm gap between the strings... Is it possible to successfully unwarp it? Do I just place it on a flat surface and put some weight on top (where)?

To ensure I strung it correctly, I did the same thing with my Channel Master and there was no gap.
What made you string it. Was there something wrong with the performance?
 

Captain Jack

Retired human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,832
Reaction score
8,018
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Yes, performance of about 1m dish. Didn't even get near the signal quality levels of my 1.2m Channel Master.

The dish isn't creased ... just seems warped. Will see what I can do tomorrow, else the 1.2m CM is going back up. Stupid flappy aluminium....
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,590
Points
113
My Location
uk
Chaps, my newly acquired Gibertini 1.5m dish is warped. There's about 1-1.5cm gap between the strings... Is it possible to successfully unwarp it? Do I just place it on a flat surface and put some weight on top (where)?

To ensure I strung it correctly, I did the same thing with my Channel Master and there was no gap.
Is that not what VS has just done with the plates he has made ? Personally if your going to go for something as big as 1.5 i would do what I have done and go that little further and got 1.8 CM you wont have that problem with them.
 

Captain Jack

Retired human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,832
Reaction score
8,018
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
The 1.5m was always going to be an interim measure as I do want the 1.8m at some point. And it was a no-brainer for £80... It's just a bit pointless where it is now (even the 1.2m is pointless) due to poor line of sight to eastern sats. I even thought about chucking the 1.2m away and using my 1m dish above the gutter on the side of the house. Would have a full view of the entire arc from there - especially with the wonderful 1224 motor.

Got some more advice on unwrapping the thing, so will give it a go tomorrow.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
35,770
Reaction score
8,646
Points
113
Age
60
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Take a (good) picture from the near side of the dish, looking at the point where the far rim just comes into view. Both should be in the form of stright lines and follow each other exactly.

If you are able, do the same from top to bottom, and then the diagonals.
 

Huevos

Satellite Freak
Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
6,038
Reaction score
1,277
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
57E to 58W, C-band and Ku, DVB-S2, 4:2:2 and blindscan.
My Location
38.5ºN, 0.5ºW
Once you unbolt it from the backplate the 1.5m dish face is a big wobbly sheet of aluminium. With mine I used the meter to get it in focus the best I could. Just went round the rim bending it forward or back to get the maximum signal. Still wasn't right so I added a bit of stainless wire from the top of the dish down to the LNB arm. That made loads of difference.

C-band-LNBs-1.jpg
 

Huevos

Satellite Freak
Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
6,038
Reaction score
1,277
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
57E to 58W, C-band and Ku, DVB-S2, 4:2:2 and blindscan.
My Location
38.5ºN, 0.5ºW
What's your top Black Ultra for?
Not there anymore. Any satellite that is inclined 3-4º and in the south of its travel. I could get Astra 1C/D @ 2east for about 8 hours a day with this setup.
 

hvdh

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
2,371
Reaction score
3,357
Points
113
Age
60
Website
gso-satellites.nl
My Satellite Setup
Dr.HD F16, TBS 5927, T-55, Laminas 120 cm
My Location
Oss, NL (5.5°E 51.8°N)
What a coincidence, I also bracketed an extra LNB above the Black Ultra two days ago!
Just out of curiousity. AMC-14 at 29.5º E comes undisturbed by 28 East of course, locked a few transponders.
Took it away meanwhile, my curiousity was satified and it would be a burten when adjusting the skew of the main LNB!
 

Trust

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jul 18, 2004
Messages
1,134
Reaction score
1,619
Points
113
Age
77
My Satellite Setup
1.8 m CM at SMR 1224 + Elev. with 7 lnb changer Ku (lin - circ) - Ka (lin - circ) C (lin - circ)
My Location
Nijmegen Netherlands
A few years ago the 120 Fibo of my friend PaulvR was blowen backwarts with the stand , extremly warped , even receiving astra 19.2 was impossible .
We put it flat on the floor and at the 2 points where the edges tuched the floor , we put 2 pieces of 20 mm wooden plates under it .
Then i stepped on the backplate and jumped a little , checking with another 20 mm test plate on other places of the edge and jumped again untill the test plate was fitting equal tide at all places . Final checking with 3 crosswires and again made small adjustments .
It was the part outside the backplate that was warped .
Just putting the dish flat on the floor would not help , the warping has to bend back trough a certan point , thats why i used those 20 mm plates .
 

Captain Jack

Retired human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,832
Reaction score
8,018
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Looks like there are several methods available to straighten out a dish. I used a brute force method by placing the dish on its back, stringing it and pushing down on the edges until the strings all came together. I know what you mean by going past the certain point, so that it snaps back to the correct spot.

Once the dish was up on the mount, I did what Huevos did by trying to adjust it slightly with it in situ and watching the signal levels. I think it's almost as good as it will get.

That's the problem with big aluminium dishes - they bend too easy. And the majority of them don't have a very good back support to stop them from twisting.
 

Huevos

Satellite Freak
Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
6,038
Reaction score
1,277
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
57E to 58W, C-band and Ku, DVB-S2, 4:2:2 and blindscan.
My Location
38.5ºN, 0.5ºW
So how is it performing now?
 

Captain Jack

Retired human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,832
Reaction score
8,018
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Very well. I think it's pretty much back to how it was originally... Certainly much better than the CM I had. May want to try pull the arm up a little like you did as there's quite a lot of weight sat on it (1 Ku and 2 C LNBs).
 

Huevos

Satellite Freak
Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
6,038
Reaction score
1,277
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
57E to 58W, C-band and Ku, DVB-S2, 4:2:2 and blindscan.
My Location
38.5ºN, 0.5ºW
It's partly pulling thr arm up but more pulling the top of the dish down. Push the arm up with a finger and see if it picks up signal. If not just leave it.
 

Captain Jack

Retired human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,832
Reaction score
8,018
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Yep, the signal did pick up a little! Maybe only 0.2dB but every little helps!

How did you attach the wire at the dish end - drill a hole at the top or...?
 

Nagusia

Regular Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2012
Messages
79
Reaction score
44
Points
18
My Satellite Setup
Gibertini 0p150 with single Inverto Black Ultra plugged into Humax FOXSAT HDR | Portable 80 cm dish with IBU plugged into TechniSat SkyStar USB HD DVB-S2 receiver/W7 64 Media Center / ProgDVB setup.
My Location
20 km south of San Sebastian N Spain
Saw this thread and thought I'd pop up to the roof to do the string test. The dish seems to be perfectly true, despite the ding it got in transport (now irrelevant due to the amount of bird shit there. While I was there I thought I'd connect the signal metre and do some experiments. I tried pushing the dish from behind at the top (so simulate the effect of Huevos' tenser wire). I also tried pushing on the rim from both sides. Whatever I did the signal dropped so I guess it's okay. In any case, assuming the dish is as it came out of the factory, you'd think that Gibertini would engineer the thing to place the LNB in the focal point with a tolerance of 2 or 3 millimetres (?). Unless it were damaged in transport or setting up modifications shouldn't really be necessary, should they?
 

Captain Jack

Retired human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,832
Reaction score
8,018
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
I am guessing in mine and Huevos's case is there are 3 LNBs hanging off the arm - pulling the whole thing down. I don't get any signal increase with just the one LNB on it.
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,663
Points
113
Age
66
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
I am guessing in mine and Huevos's case is there are 3 LNBs hanging off the arm - pulling the whole thing down. I don't get any signal increase with just the one LNB on it.
I think you've done well to get it back in shape...
I was going to suggest the exoskeleton method ..but I suspect the Gibby already has this basic structure..
 
Top