Using existing Sky dish & Freesat card

kingpeter

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Pioneer PDP-LX5090 TV, yet to choose receiver, Gladiator custom build Intel core2 duo computer
My Location
Mid Wales
Greetings all! I am a complete beginner, so I hope you will be tolerant with my first post.

I wish to install my first plasma HD TV and HD receiver, and would like some advice please on getting up and running. Some of this has been covered earlier on the forums, but I would like to get up-to-the minute information, in a rapidly advancing field.

Firstly: I am considering a Fortec Star Innovation receiver, and wonder if I can simply switch over the lead from my existing Sky digibox to the new receiver, and receive Freesat straight away.

I have a Sky Freesat card plugged into the Sky Digibox. I understand that I will need to use this card in the new receiver, in order to receive Ch4 and Ch5? Is it just a matter of plugging the card into one of the two slots for pay-satellite provided on the Fortec?

Can I then ditch the Sky digibox, and rely on the Fortec Star box, i.e. are there any Freesat channels I receive on the Sky digibox that cannot be received on the Fortec?

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
Northants, Midlands UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
Welcome to satellites forum,

Firstly: I am considering a Fortec Star Innovation receiver, and wonder if I can simply switch over the lead from my existing Sky digibox to the new receiver, and receive Freesat straight away.

Yes, you can connect the Fortec receiver to existing dish

I have a Sky Freesat card plugged into the Sky Digibox. I understand that I will need to use this card in the new receiver, in order to receive Ch4 and Ch5? Is it just a matter of plugging the card into one of the two slots for pay-satellite provided on the Fortec?

At the moment Channel 5 is not on the freesat platform but Channel 4 is operational and free to air.