1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Using the "138MHz-4.4GHz USB SMA Source/Signal Generator/Simple Spectrum Analyzer" for TV/CATV/SAT

Discussion in 'Satellite Meters and Installation Equipment' started by vma, Oct 7, 2016.

  1. vma

    vma Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Portugal
    My Satellite Setup:
    Main setup: VU+ Duo on 100cm dish (13.0E, 19.2E, 28.2E) & 80cm dish (30.0W)
    Field meter: Rover Instruments HD Touch, Spaun Sparos 711, Deviser S7000, KWS Varos 109, ...
    My Location:
    Portugal
    Hi,

    Windows XP was never supported and I do not have plans to do so - it is a discontinued operating system, which should not be used, at least not connected to the internet, as vulnerabilities are no longer patched by Microsoft.

    Anyway, it seems that older version do run under Windows XP if the .Net Runtime 3.5 or higher is installed.

    I have put an archive of ALL versions so far on my blog. (on the bottom of the download post).

    No support is given, but feel free to try which versions do run.

    Regards,
    Vitor
     
  2. John

    John Enthusiast.

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    1,373
    Likes Received:
    2,454
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    North Nottinghamshire.
    My Satellite Setup:
    Elite 2.2 PF - CM1.8 - CM1.2 - Gibertini 1.25.
    Ku - Ka -C & Ext C.
    PC cards-TM5402 receivers.
    Promax FSM.
    My Location:
    North Nottinghamshire.

    Thanks Vitor, understood.
     
  3. vma

    vma Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Portugal
    My Satellite Setup:
    Main setup: VU+ Duo on 100cm dish (13.0E, 19.2E, 28.2E) & 80cm dish (30.0W)
    Field meter: Rover Instruments HD Touch, Spaun Sparos 711, Deviser S7000, KWS Varos 109, ...
    My Location:
    Portugal
    Can you guys try these two versions and tell me if they run on Windows XP:

    VMA Simple Spectrum Analyser - 2016-12-29.zip
    VMA Simple Spectrum Analyser - 2016-12-29 - .Net Framework 3.5.zip

    I really want to forget about Windows XP, especially because I want to modernize the GUI to later framework and style.
    If one of these two versions work, I *might* occasionally compile these special versions.

    But please consider upgrading to Windows 7 @ 32bit. Performance will certainly be the same and you won't have to keep using an unsecure operating system.

    I only use Windows XP on an old HP Omnibook XE3 laptop, because it has a serial and a parallel port. Using Windows XP will allow me to use cheap self-made JTAG interfaces for firmware upgrade and firmware repair, for instance of satellite receivers.

    There truly is no other reason to keep using Windows XP, except the direct access to the parallel port, I could think of.

    Regards,
    Vitor
     
    Tururu likes this.
  4. John

    John Enthusiast.

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    1,373
    Likes Received:
    2,454
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    North Nottinghamshire.
    My Satellite Setup:
    Elite 2.2 PF - CM1.8 - CM1.2 - Gibertini 1.25.
    Ku - Ka -C & Ext C.
    PC cards-TM5402 receivers.
    Promax FSM.
    My Location:
    North Nottinghamshire.

    Will try those two on the XP Pro machine asap.
    The XP machine was going to be tried as a dedicated display only for the spectrum software only and nothing else, no internet use, downloads being done on a protected pc and then transfered across.
    The XP laptop is an old IBM ThinkPad T40 that i used for programming ex PMR radio equipment to Ham band use and other data stuff, it's got an ideal small footprint with a nice 768 max res and a nice 14" screen .... was a shame to see it sat up in the loft all on it's own.
    Regards.
     
  5. vma

    vma Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Portugal
    My Satellite Setup:
    Main setup: VU+ Duo on 100cm dish (13.0E, 19.2E, 28.2E) & 80cm dish (30.0W)
    Field meter: Rover Instruments HD Touch, Spaun Sparos 711, Deviser S7000, KWS Varos 109, ...
    My Location:
    Portugal
    Hi,

    Another user already confirmed that the "VMA Simple Spectrum Analyser - 2016-12-29 - .Net Framework 3.5.zip" version does indeed work under Windows XP.

    I am in process of changing the GUI style to a more modern look and I am using the .Net Framework 4.5, which will not work under Windows XP.
    However, if all I have to do is to recompile everything setting "Keep Windowx XP Style" and ".net Framework 3.5", I will evey now and then do so.

    Regards,
    Vitor
     
  6. John

    John Enthusiast.

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    1,373
    Likes Received:
    2,454
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    North Nottinghamshire.
    My Satellite Setup:
    Elite 2.2 PF - CM1.8 - CM1.2 - Gibertini 1.25.
    Ku - Ka -C & Ext C.
    PC cards-TM5402 receivers.
    Promax FSM.
    My Location:
    North Nottinghamshire.
    This has loaded up ok on my XP Pro IBM T40 Vitor, I'll pm you for the key etc.
    Many thanks.
     
  7. vma

    vma Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Portugal
    My Satellite Setup:
    Main setup: VU+ Duo on 100cm dish (13.0E, 19.2E, 28.2E) & 80cm dish (30.0W)
    Field meter: Rover Instruments HD Touch, Spaun Sparos 711, Deviser S7000, KWS Varos 109, ...
    My Location:
    Portugal
    I have been further looking into this: I think that the current version I am working on *could* work in XP, *IF* .net Framework 4.5 is installed. I don't know if that is possible, though, i.e. if this Framework was released for XP.

    I will upload a sample version for you guys to try.

    Regards,
    Vitor
     
    John likes this.
  8. John

    John Enthusiast.

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    1,373
    Likes Received:
    2,454
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    North Nottinghamshire.
    My Satellite Setup:
    Elite 2.2 PF - CM1.8 - CM1.2 - Gibertini 1.25.
    Ku - Ka -C & Ext C.
    PC cards-TM5402 receivers.
    Promax FSM.
    My Location:
    North Nottinghamshire.


    Only just had time to return to the software Vitor and give you an update on the XP machine.
    In the pics:--- the rear lap is the IBM R61i running W7 Pro , 1280 x 768 and the image displays and fits the screen area fully.
    The front lap is the IBM T40, XP Pro, 1024 x 768. It loads up into XP no problem and seems to run ok but because the T40 will only do 1024 x 768 it will not display the side menu panel of the software. Never mind.

    Win7 Pro...reduded image...jpg XP Pro...reduced image...jpg
     
    Chris1979 likes this.
  9. vma

    vma Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Portugal
    My Satellite Setup:
    Main setup: VU+ Duo on 100cm dish (13.0E, 19.2E, 28.2E) & 80cm dish (30.0W)
    Field meter: Rover Instruments HD Touch, Spaun Sparos 711, Deviser S7000, KWS Varos 109, ...
    My Location:
    Portugal
    Hi,

    I just uploaded a new release, which I *think* should run on Windows XP. If so, future releases should, run as well. I changed to x86 binaries and .Net Framework 3.5.
    The changes in this las version are above all cosmetic. 100% of the user input fields are now verified and all numeric fields use a numeric input form.

    At this point, I have basically implemented everything I had in mind.

    Once donations reach the amount required for a NWT4000-3, I will buy one and see what can be done in regards to TG - Tracking Generator.

    Things I did try, but did not work out:

    1) Use the Streamreader.dll to use CrazyScan similar blindscan/tuning and TS forwarding to VLC and TSReader. That was a big dream, but apparently you cannot just use a VC++ DLL with a .Net application. At least I wasn't able to do so.
    2) Use two SMA devices to double the sweep rate. That was another idea I had, to double the speed of the spectrum. That does not work, though, because the power level and dynamic range of my two devices are quite different! Actually, I cannot even understand why its so different. The devices are 100% OK, but hooking the same signal cable will produce significant differences (around 5dB at least). This makes it pointless to have each device sweep half of the span...
    3) Use two SMA devices in sync for "poor-man's TG". Results were really bad. You need a NWT device for that.

    Regards,
    Vitor
     
    John likes this.
  10. vma

    vma Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Portugal
    My Satellite Setup:
    Main setup: VU+ Duo on 100cm dish (13.0E, 19.2E, 28.2E) & 80cm dish (30.0W)
    Field meter: Rover Instruments HD Touch, Spaun Sparos 711, Deviser S7000, KWS Varos 109, ...
    My Location:
    Portugal
    John,

    It is impossible to fit the window of the VMA Simple Spectrum Analyser in a 1024x768 screen: the spectrum picture box alone is 1000x500 pixels!

    Your only option would be a scaleable graphics driver, where you could simulate a higher resolution, which would be rendered with interpolation. I have at least one early tablet PC (Asus R2H), where that was possible.

    Sorry about that.

    Regards,
    Vitor
     
  11. John

    John Enthusiast.

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    1,373
    Likes Received:
    2,454
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    North Nottinghamshire.
    My Satellite Setup:
    Elite 2.2 PF - CM1.8 - CM1.2 - Gibertini 1.25.
    Ku - Ka -C & Ext C.
    PC cards-TM5402 receivers.
    Promax FSM.
    My Location:
    North Nottinghamshire.


    No problem at all Vitor, i really appreciate your work .... it's just great to have a play about with different machines old & new.
    Regards.
     
  12. Tururu

    Tururu Assembled with recycled parts

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,345
    Likes Received:
    770
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    94cm motorised dishes (98x90cm) 0'692m², (Currently 52 satellites, 61°West to 57°East.), DB800S-HD and VU+DUO2 recycled as the owner.
    My Location:
    North of Madrid (28703 Spain) -3Km of IKEA (40.545847, -3.612012).:-)
    New player in the field.
    Now play the manual to learn how to use the "toy" 100%.
    ---------------------------------
    Nuevo jugador en el campo.
    Ahora toca empollar el manual para aprender a usar el "juguete" al 100%.

    Prueba_2.png

    PS:WinXP.:p
     
    jeallen01 and John like this.
  13. John

    John Enthusiast.

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    1,373
    Likes Received:
    2,454
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    North Nottinghamshire.
    My Satellite Setup:
    Elite 2.2 PF - CM1.8 - CM1.2 - Gibertini 1.25.
    Ku - Ka -C & Ext C.
    PC cards-TM5402 receivers.
    Promax FSM.
    My Location:
    North Nottinghamshire.

    Nice one, welcome to the club.
    Nice to see you have full info on the screen with your XP machine. For Stats, can you clarify what screen resolution you are running & laptop or pc please.
    You will love this set-up Tururu as a brilliant frequency monitor and tool.
     
  14. Tururu

    Tururu Assembled with recycled parts

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,345
    Likes Received:
    770
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    94cm motorised dishes (98x90cm) 0'692m², (Currently 52 satellites, 61°West to 57°East.), DB800S-HD and VU+DUO2 recycled as the owner.
    My Location:
    North of Madrid (28703 Spain) -3Km of IKEA (40.545847, -3.612012).:-)
    .
    It is a desktop PC, the resolution is 1280x1024 and 1920x1080.
    With 2 monitors Asus VX238, with an old Ati Radeon, for the HDMI output I can not put 1920x1080.
    From the 88 working with DEC Microvax II I get used to 2 monitors and to pass to PC always with 2 monitors.
    I have some old laptops and I looked at the screen. (Compaq Armada M700 (P3, 700Mhz y 1000Mhz)).
    ---------------
    Es un PC de sobremesa, la reslolucion es 1280x1024 y 1920x1080.
    Con 2 monitores Asus VX238, con una vieja Ati Radeon, por la salida HDMI no puedo poner 1920x1080.
    Desde el 88 trabajando con DEC Microvax II me acostumbre a 2 monitores y al pasar a PC siempre con 2 monitores.
    Tengo unos viejos portatiles y miro que tal la pantalla. (Compaq Armada M700 (P3, 700Mhz y 1000Mhz)).
     
    John likes this.
  15. vma

    vma Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Portugal
    My Satellite Setup:
    Main setup: VU+ Duo on 100cm dish (13.0E, 19.2E, 28.2E) & 80cm dish (30.0W)
    Field meter: Rover Instruments HD Touch, Spaun Sparos 711, Deviser S7000, KWS Varos 109, ...
    My Location:
    Portugal
    New version available!

    Cheers,
    vma
     
  16. vma

    vma Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Portugal
    My Satellite Setup:
    Main setup: VU+ Duo on 100cm dish (13.0E, 19.2E, 28.2E) & 80cm dish (30.0W)
    Field meter: Rover Instruments HD Touch, Spaun Sparos 711, Deviser S7000, KWS Varos 109, ...
    My Location:
    Portugal
    Hi,

    I just uploaded a new version with some bug fixes and a new STOP button for the signal generator: previously you couldn't actually stop the signal generator. There is no command to do that, but I figured out a trick that shuts it off.

    Hope you guy's are still using and enjoying the software.

    Regards,
    Vitor
     
  17. John

    John Enthusiast.

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    1,373
    Likes Received:
    2,454
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    North Nottinghamshire.
    My Satellite Setup:
    Elite 2.2 PF - CM1.8 - CM1.2 - Gibertini 1.25.
    Ku - Ka -C & Ext C.
    PC cards-TM5402 receivers.
    Promax FSM.
    My Location:
    North Nottinghamshire.

    .... Very much using and enjoying it Vitor :)
     
    vma and scopus like this.
  18. vma

    vma Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Portugal
    My Satellite Setup:
    Main setup: VU+ Duo on 100cm dish (13.0E, 19.2E, 28.2E) & 80cm dish (30.0W)
    Field meter: Rover Instruments HD Touch, Spaun Sparos 711, Deviser S7000, KWS Varos 109, ...
    My Location:
    Portugal
    Hi,

    I am interested in further improving the satellite recognition algorithm and for that it would be great to receive spectrum recordings of different C-band and Ka-band satellites.

    Thanks,
    Vitor
     
    Tururu and blademedia like this.
  19. TVDXer

    TVDXer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    3
    My Satellite Setup:
    1.2m Channel Master Mini-bud on HH120; 1.2m Channel Master fixed; 90cm Ku on HH90; MicroHD; Amiko A3; TBS 5980; TBS 6982
    My Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Vitor, how long do you need them to be?
     
    blademedia likes this.
  20. vma

    vma Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Portugal
    My Satellite Setup:
    Main setup: VU+ Duo on 100cm dish (13.0E, 19.2E, 28.2E) & 80cm dish (30.0W)
    Field meter: Rover Instruments HD Touch, Spaun Sparos 711, Deviser S7000, KWS Varos 109, ...
    My Location:
    Portugal
    1 minute each, but even 10 seconds is good enough.
    If I could get matching *.ini files with the transponder lists, that would be great.

    I basically want to think about how to implement less common LOF values and satellite bands, so that satellites on C-band, different Ka-bands, etc. are recognized.

    I am currently not sure how the transponder *.ini files handle those transponders, that use a LOF different from -5150, 9750 and 10600.

    Thanks,
    Vitor
     
    blademedia likes this.

Share This Page

Click here to support our sponsors