Very slow picture downloads

Captain Jack

Burnt out human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,791
Reaction score
7,976
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Hello,

Ever since the forum was upgraded, I am having huge issues downloading posted pictures. More often than not, they don't download at all but if they do, they can take up to a minute to appear. Sometimes, however, they load up fine!

This happens at home, office and on my mobile phone via Tapatalk, so the issue is not isolated to my equipment.

Can someone look into this?

Thanks
CJ
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,068
Reaction score
8,661
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
There's also the fact that your Post went into the Moderation Queue for some undetermined reason.

Sorry for the delay in extracting it - been starting off my Blackberry Wine! (Brewing, not Drinking, I should add)
 

hairybadger

Bricoleur
Joined
Jul 20, 2012
Messages
1,377
Reaction score
778
Points
113
Location
46.1N 6.4E
My Satellite Setup
see sig
My Location
near Geneva, Haute-Savoie, France
Hello,
Ever since the forum was upgraded, I am having huge issues downloading posted pictures. More often than not, they don't download at all but if they do, they can take up to a minute to appear. Sometimes, however, they load up fine!
Happens to me too, at work and at home. Currently Firefox 24 for both - I thought it was being caused by some FF extension or other.
 

Mickha

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
5,969
Reaction score
882
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
1.2M Channel Master, 1224 motor, VU+ Duo 2
My Location
North West
Another post that was in the moderation queue, when it shouldn't have been.
 

sonnetpete

Grumpy Old Retired Moderator and quiz inquisitor..
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
8,948
Reaction score
3,490
Points
113
Age
73
Website
wordpress.com
My Satellite Setup
Laminas 1.2M fibre dish with an IBU, on a Clarke Tech USALS motor, covering 57E - 24.5W to an Octagon SX88. Displayed on a 20" Dyon LED TV.

Seperate 80 cm dish on 28E with a Humax Freesat for SWMBO.
Free Sat V8 meter. Sony Bravia 46" LCD, Sony BluRay and Home Cinema.
My Location
Normandy, France
I've certainly noticed that photos are sluggish to load, though not all the time. I'm using Google Chrome on Linux Mint.
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,068
Reaction score
8,661
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
And yet another Post inappropriately sent to Moderation ^^^^
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
23,987
Reaction score
4,014
Points
113
Age
69
My Satellite Setup
Has gone to a good home elsewhere
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
Mmmm well if everyone would post their details when viewing a particular thread it may help, I can look at this thread http://www.satellites.co.uk/forums/threads/nature-pics.52582/page-15#post-854640 on my 6 year old twin P4 processor with 2GB ram on a 4 Mb/s internet connection using Windows XP Pro SP3 with Chrome and it takes less than 3 seconds to load all pics on that thread. Perhaps this is a FF problem
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,068
Reaction score
8,661
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
I am running Firefox under Mint 15 and IceWeasel (Firefox in a cloak) under Crunchbang and have not had difficulty with download any pics. under the new Firmware, despite my snail-speed ADSL.

Just tried the ones linked by Topper and they load fine, within seconds.
 

Captain Jack

Burnt out human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,791
Reaction score
7,976
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Let me reiterate - the main issue happens when I click on the thumbnails to display a larger picture, rather than the thumbs themselves. I don't think it's isolated to a browser or a device... or a connection for that matter. I tried it all on IE, Firefox and Chrome, though predominantly Chrome, on Windows 7, Mac OS X and Android phone.

It took a good few tries and up to 15 minutes to display pictures in Vipersan's Ka band thread. I had to press refresh on the images to load them all properly. Again, when it works, it's less than a second.. when it doesn't - it's extreeeeemely slow (I can see about an 8th of the image displayed at the top after about a minute).
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,068
Reaction score
8,661
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
I've just tried once more some of those in VS's Topic and they too present no problem.

It's an odd one, this.

rolfw is the man with the access to (and knowledge of!) the "inner workings", so best wait for him to have a dekko.
 

sonnetpete

Grumpy Old Retired Moderator and quiz inquisitor..
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
8,948
Reaction score
3,490
Points
113
Age
73
Website
wordpress.com
My Satellite Setup
Laminas 1.2M fibre dish with an IBU, on a Clarke Tech USALS motor, covering 57E - 24.5W to an Octagon SX88. Displayed on a 20" Dyon LED TV.

Seperate 80 cm dish on 28E with a Humax Freesat for SWMBO.
Free Sat V8 meter. Sony Bravia 46" LCD, Sony BluRay and Home Cinema.
My Location
Normandy, France
Embedded photos (like those of PDP's in his 'Victor' thread) display very quickly. However clicking on thumbnails to display them as full size does take a while, not minutes but something in the order of 20 to 30 seconds.
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,068
Reaction score
8,661
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Hmm. Those Thumbnail expansions are taking no more than four or five seconds for me. Mind you, even with a glitch free system, the time taken will perceptibly depend upon File Size (Resolution) for those of us with Steam Broadband.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
50,665
Reaction score
11,135
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Some of the picture files can be very big indeed. If you have a slow connection it can take a while to download the full versions of them.

Im on sub 2 meg and it takes 20-30 seconds for some photos to arrive.

This is why we normally ask folk to use the thumbnails rather than the full screen pics - then people on slow connections can open a pic if it interests them I'll demonstrate
 

Captain Jack

Burnt out human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,791
Reaction score
7,976
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Well, my connection at home is 7Mbit - at work it's far more than that, so that's not an issue. Like I said, when they load normally, they load in less than a second. But more often than not, they don't load at all :(
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,068
Reaction score
8,661
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Perhaps we should impose tighter File Size restrictions, placing the onus on the Member uploading them, rather than causing potential difficulties for people wishing to view??
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
50,665
Reaction score
11,135
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Heres a photo - fairly typical from the forum. Its 400kb and the thumbnail should display fairly quickly. Click on it and it'll open full screen - slowly if you are "sub 2meg bb".
 

Attachments

  • ndr closedown.jpg
    ndr closedown.jpg
    390 KB · Views: 33

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,068
Reaction score
8,661
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Five seconds on my 720 kbps connection.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
50,665
Reaction score
11,135
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
If you are on proper bb & use firefox then it could be a ff issue. Its really gone downhill in the last 12 months.
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,068
Reaction score
8,661
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Firefox not a problem - still using it in preference to Chrome.

Recent releases seem to have got it back on track.


PS: I was counting in Spanish .................. !:-nutkick
 
Top