Viaccess Redcam Initializing Frequently.

macho

Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2003
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Website
Visit site
I have a Viaccess Redcam with a funcard in a Praxis Digislim 9900CI receiver. The problem that I am having is that the cam initializes every often, sometimes even every minute.

I have the latest viaccess software in the cam.

Furthermore, the cam can get really hot after sometime but the problem above occurs even when the cam is cold.

I would appreciate some advise.

Thanks.
 

theslydog

Regular Member
Joined
Jun 1, 1999
Messages
59
Reaction score
0
Points
6
My Location
moon
I have similar problem but not so bad.

Red CAM initialize ever few hours. First I thought was card but now I think maybe fault in CAM.

I will try another CI slot also another decoder to see if make any difference.

CAM only pretty new so maybe I have to send back.

theslydog
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
30,827
Reaction score
6,966
Points
113
Age
56
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
I would like to say 'they all do that' as one of my customers has official Smart card for RTV and Red Cam, however it is actually down to the receiver and the voltages put out to the PCMCIA slot

The only real solution is to put a fan in the cabinet or leave the receiver open completely (or change the receiver)
 

theslydog

Regular Member
Joined
Jun 1, 1999
Messages
59
Reaction score
0
Points
6
My Location
moon
Channel Hopper

Thanks for advice.

Actually because u say try CAM in another Rx - I put Red CAM in another Hummy I got and it no problem.

Both Hummies are 5400's not Z models one is 1998 model other is 2001. 1998 model so far no problem.

Bit strange - Aston SECA CAM work fine in both.

So must be fine tolerence of heat and/or voltage.

tsd
 
Top