What equipment do i need ?

ash213

Regular Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
286
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
36
My Satellite Setup
DM800HD, INVERTO Silver Tech Universal Twin LNB 0.2, Technomate 80cm mesh dish
My Location
BRISTOL
Hi guys.

I purchased a sat dish from LIDL last summer but never got round to messing around with.

Finally this summer i wanna have some fun with and see what it can do.

What else do i need ? I understand i need a reciever box.

In terms of Leads, lnb's ,etc..

I live in a rented property so im thinking of going down the tyre route..placing the dish on a tyre.. Will the dish stay put on the tyre? Im thinking of putting it on top of the garage.

Im gonna buy a TELESTAR Under Window Cable http://www.sateuropa.co.uk/product_overview.asp?id=942&catid=1&subcat=51

Any more advice on what i need ? im lost.

Thanks

(Below is analoguesat's tyre mount setup)
 

Robbo

Retired Mod
Joined
May 17, 2007
Messages
6,424
Reaction score
5
Points
38
Age
54
Website
www.mbcsatellites.co.uk
My Satellite Setup
TM6800HD, TM1000, TM600 Linux,TM2200 motor, Channel Master 1.2m motorised, TD110 dish Meter=Satlook Micro+G2 NIT
My Location
Gravesend,Kent,UK
Hi,

You need a universal LNB, such as a Inverto Silvertech, with a 40mm neck, and a length of satellite coax (eg wf100) and a couple of f-connectors.

Receiver wise, you can spend what you wish, from £30 upwards. A TM5200(for example) for about £50 would do fine for the FTA channels.

Check out one of the site sponsors one of them will have what you need.

If you are in any doubt that you have selected something that will do the job, post back.



Robbo:)
 

ash213

Regular Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
286
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
36
My Satellite Setup
DM800HD, INVERTO Silver Tech Universal Twin LNB 0.2, Technomate 80cm mesh dish
My Location
BRISTOL
Robbo71 said:
Hi,

You need a universal LNB, such as a Inverto Silvertech, with a 40mm neck, and a length of satellite coax (eg wf100) and a couple of f-connectors.

Receiver wise, you can spend what you wish, from £30 upwards. A TM5200(for example) for about £50 would do fine for the FTA channels.

Check out one of the site sponsors one of them will have what you need.

If you are in any doubt that you have selected something that will do the job, post back.



Robbo:)


Does FTA mean FREE TO AIR ?

I want to try and get some premium channels aswell.

I'd spend around £80 to be honest. What do you recomend ?
 

HB13DISH

Retired Mod
Joined
Aug 13, 2007
Messages
3,764
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
76
My Location
Middle East - Israel
ash213 said:
Does FTA mean FREE TO AIR ?

I want to try and get some premium channels aswell.

I'd spend around £80 to be honest. What do you recomend ?

I would recommend a box with as many slots for viewing cards as possible, but within reason.

Looking at Sateuropa digital receivers, they have a Humax with embedded Viaccess for 99 pounds and another with Viaccess embedded and a CI slot for 109 pounds.
I would try to stretch it a bit and get the last one, think of it as a good investment.
If you need another slot in the future, you have to buy another receiver.
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,126
Reaction score
1,489
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
No, I disagree, the Humax receiver are not as far as I know patchable, better to go for one of the patchable models like the Technomate or Nanoxx, there are quite a few. Have a look through our supporting advertisers' sites.

PS. Analoguesat, who's dishes you show above, I think uses one of those flat connectors, he should be able to tell whether it works well or not. :)
 

ash213

Regular Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
286
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
36
My Satellite Setup
DM800HD, INVERTO Silver Tech Universal Twin LNB 0.2, Technomate 80cm mesh dish
My Location
BRISTOL
rolfw said:
No, I disagree, the Humax receiver are not as far as I know patchable, better to go for one of the patchable models like the Technomate or Nanoxx, there are quite a few. Have a look through our supporting advertisers' sites.

PS. Analoguesat, who's dishes you show above, I think uses one of those flat connectors, he should be able to tell whether it works well or not. :)


cheers fella.

how do i get in touch with Analoguesat ?
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,126
Reaction score
1,489
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
I'm sure he'll see this thread.
 

ash213

Regular Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
286
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
36
My Satellite Setup
DM800HD, INVERTO Silver Tech Universal Twin LNB 0.2, Technomate 80cm mesh dish
My Location
BRISTOL
bump cos the chappie didnt see the thread !
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,307
Reaction score
9,941
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Seen it now! :D I was on my summer holiday when the original post was made :D

The tyre mounted dish is my 19E dish and has lived on a tyre for about 5 years, although its in a pretty sheltered location. Even so it does blow over occasionally - I saw it do a complete forward flip once! There are a couple of wooden laths jammed up against the back of it to keep it upright.

DONT even think about putting it on top of a garage on a tyre - it WILL blow off and either do some serious damage, or hurt someone - and you DONT want an insurance claim from someone who has been hit in the face by a loose dish.

If the garage roof is the only location for it get a proper patio mount and weight it down with slabs, sandbags, buckets of concrete etc.

All my cables currently run under the window frames - we had new windows put in a few months ago so I took the opportunity to run plenty of extra coax cables under the window frame before the guys sealed everything up! (The builders though I was mad with all the coax cables!)

The flat coax window frame connectors will work fine though. Maplins sell them for a couple of pounds each.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,307
Reaction score
9,941
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
BTW - remember a dish doesnt have to be high up as long as its got line of sight to the desired satellites. You could knock a couple of fence posts into the ground and bolt the dish mounts to that (which is what I do for several of my dishes), or bolt it to the garage wall in a suitable location
 

ash213

Regular Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
286
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
36
My Satellite Setup
DM800HD, INVERTO Silver Tech Universal Twin LNB 0.2, Technomate 80cm mesh dish
My Location
BRISTOL
Where can i find out what direction to face my dish ? do i need a sat finder thingy ? if so wheres the cheapest place to get hold of one ? cheers
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,034
Reaction score
383
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
East Midlands, UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
Try _http://www.dishpointer.com/

good place to start :)
 

ash213

Regular Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
286
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
36
My Satellite Setup
DM800HD, INVERTO Silver Tech Universal Twin LNB 0.2, Technomate 80cm mesh dish
My Location
BRISTOL
this is what it says......means nothing to me !

Elevation: 24.5°
Azimuth (true): 142.8°
Azimuth (magn.): 145.9°
LNB Skew: -14.7°
Turn counter-clockwise standing behind the dishTurn clockwise standing behind the dish
Dish Skew: 90.0°
Turn counter-clockwise standing behind the dishTurn clockwise standing behind the dish
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,307
Reaction score
9,941
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Elevation: 24.5° the height of the satellite above the horizon
Azimuth (true): 142.8° the true direction of the satellite slot from true north
Azimuth (magn.): 145.9° the same as above but with the magnetic offset added in
LNB Skew: -14.7° the rotational twist needing to be applied to the lnb when its in its clampTurn counter-clockwise standing behind the dishTurn clockwise standing behind the dish
Dish Skew: 90.0° a new one on me!
Turn counter-clockwise standing behind the dishTurn clockwise standing behind the dish
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,034
Reaction score
383
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
East Midlands, UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
Dish Skew: 90.0° a new one on me!

maybe it's an option if you can't reach the LNb :-lmao
 
Top