What is Windows Embedded Operating System

chris

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 24, 2012
Messages
356
Reaction score
259
Points
63
Age
49
My Satellite Setup
TalkTalk TV
My Location
Worksop UK
We are looking to replace our home office PC and have seen a few computers that come with Windows Embedded Operating System but I've never heard of this before so what is it ? is it any good ?

Chris.
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,126
Reaction score
1,489
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
As far as I knew, embedded Windows was for non-PCs, like set top boxes, Media servers, point of sales devices etc.
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,126
Reaction score
1,489
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Way over my pay grade, no idea what it does, but it isn't a standard PC you connect to a monitor.
 

chris

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 24, 2012
Messages
356
Reaction score
259
Points
63
Age
49
My Satellite Setup
TalkTalk TV
My Location
Worksop UK
rolfw said:
Way over my pay grade, no idea what it does, but it isn't a standard PC you connect to a monitor.
Yes I'm not sure what it does and wikipedia doesn't really explain much. Just in intrigued to know what it is and what it does as it listed with other desktop PCs
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,312
Reaction score
9,943
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
A thin client is a very cut down computer. They normally dont have hard drives etc - everything runs off a central server.

The OS will probably be burned to rom as theres no hdd to install it to.

Can be much cheaper for big organisations to equip multiple offices.
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,614
Reaction score
8,311
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Thankyou for alleviating my ignorance! (And that of others, I suspect ................ )
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,586
Points
113
My Location
uk
i had never heard of one and wikipedia did not learn me anything, thanks A/S,
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,312
Reaction score
9,943
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Not really suitable for home use unless you know what you are doing
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
17,569
Reaction score
3,667
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
Thin client harks back to the early days when a mini computer would run a number of dumb terminals. Then came the PC, which stands for Personal Computer, which freed users from the necessity to have a server.

And so the wheel turns...
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
23,699
Reaction score
3,858
Points
113
Age
67
My Satellite Setup
1.2Mtr Polar MTG yes it has been on the arc for 35 years and is now fixed on 13 East using two pairs of rusty molegrips. Unlike me they never groan but always perform.
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
Yes it is quite remarkable really how things have gone almost full circle, in retail in the early 90s Wyse terminals ran from a central server.....Wyse terminals were just dumb terminals and could not even boot if the server was not present
 

pgh13

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
1,679
Reaction score
409
Points
83
Age
69
My Satellite Setup
XTrend ET8000, Dr HD 15, PC/twinhan combination. 80cm dish. GBPVR with 2 DTTV cards +hauppauge Media MVP +Raspberry Pi running XBMC
My Location
Midlands UK
I remember in the mid to late 90s the network PC was being pushed as he way forward partly because they did away with the HDD which were pretty expensive in those days. I know these days some users get quite confused when they run a PC in a Virtual Desktop environment having drives mapped on the PC but different drive mapping on the Virtual Desktop
 

dig deep

Prince of Birthdays
Staff member
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
8,480
Reaction score
395
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
Dream7020 and AZ Elite and a few DM800
My Location
Sweden
I think this is what they (suppliers) want us all to have. A dumb box that needs a server.

No need for no HD
Just pay as You go lol

The keyword is pay !
 

excollier

Bikes, Booze & Blues
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
931
Reaction score
452
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
TD 78 and Freesat+
My Location
Furthest outpost of the EUSSR
Windows, Sky, just by-words for pay, pay, pay........
Get Freesat.
Get Linux.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,312
Reaction score
9,943
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
dig deep said:
The keyword is pay !
Yeah - why do you think Microcrap are so keen to move Office into "the cloud" Lovely yearly licensing fees is the answer to that one.

Why have a one off purchase fee when they can rake in yearly subscriptions instead?
 

excollier

Bikes, Booze & Blues
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
931
Reaction score
452
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
TD 78 and Freesat+
My Location
Furthest outpost of the EUSSR
Indeed, once you've tried linux, you will wish you had tried it years ago...and saved some money too.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,312
Reaction score
9,943
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Ive tried it in the past, but the distros have been so bloody unfriendly to a newcomer its been hopeless.
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
17,569
Reaction score
3,667
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
Ive tried it in the past, but the distros have been so bloody unfriendly to a newcomer its been hopeless.
Ditto from me.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,312
Reaction score
9,943
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
I tried crunchbang 6 months or so back. That one just made me want to smash the computer with a hammer! That cd was frisbee'd!
 
Top