Help Required What kind of Sky connector is this?

Gordon McPherson

New Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2015
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
37
My Satellite Setup
Openbox
My Location
Glasgow
Hi there,

Looking for the technical/official name for this Sky connection/extender.

It appears to be a female to male adapter than your existing male F Connector would plug in to to extend it.

Thanks!
 

Attachments

  • Sky connection.jpg
    Sky connection.jpg
    77.7 KB · Views: 146

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,101
Reaction score
8,686
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Hi.

It's a Barrel Connector.

(Not Sky exclusive, but a generic Satellite system accessory)
 

Gordon McPherson

New Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2015
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
37
My Satellite Setup
Openbox
My Location
Glasgow
I though a barrel connector was to join two male connections i.e. it was female/female? I'm obviously wrong. Is there anywhere on the high street that would sell such an item?
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
18,030
Reaction score
4,049
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
A barrel connector is anything that connects two plugs or sockets together.

The double threaded female to male F type is unusual; you would normally see a threaded female to push-on male connector. This is to save the wear on the threads of your receiver if you habitually unplug and plug back in your receiver - as I do when taking my Humax HDR to France and back. I have the push-on adaptors on the downleads both in the UK and France.
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,101
Reaction score
8,686
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Most are indeed female-female, but the description as a Barrel connector is apposite. It just need qualifying.
 

Gordon McPherson

New Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2015
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
37
My Satellite Setup
Openbox
My Location
Glasgow
Most are indeed female-female, but the description as a Barrel connector is apposite. It just need qualifying.

Thanks very much for your input guys.

Is there anywhere I could pick one up on the high street?

I know of Maplin electronics but I don't hold out much hope!

Thanks again.
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,101
Reaction score
8,686
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
I've done a bit of searching, out of interest, and that particular connector does seem to be as rare as rocking-horse poo.

Maplins might indeed be your best bet.

Even on eBay it is hard to find that exact type, though there are some with screw at the male end and push-fit at the other.
 

Gordon McPherson

New Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2015
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
37
My Satellite Setup
Openbox
My Location
Glasgow
I've done a bit of searching, out of interest, and that particular connector does seem to be as rare as rocking-horse poo.

Maplins might indeed be your best bet.

Even on eBay it is hard to find that exact type, though there are some with screw at the male end and push-fit at the other.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/371250578632?_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT

This chap seems to have the market sewn up as he has them on Ebay and on Amazon yet I can not for the life of me find any others hence this thread!
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,315
Reaction score
1,631
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
It's not a standard connector, there a couple of similar units on ebay, they are for fixing voltage switching problems on the Skybox receiver and all look home made. I would guess they have some component built in for voltage reduction.

Just search for (no signal fix openbox)

OK, here it is:

Code:
http://www.techkings.org/attachments/skybox-f3-f5-f6/11467d1401057032t-skybox-openbox-no-signal-fix-diy-how-make-your-own-diode_fix_nocap_2.jpg
 
Last edited:

Gordon McPherson

New Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2015
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
37
My Satellite Setup
Openbox
My Location
Glasgow
So there shall not be a high street store able to help me then! Off to eBay I go then...

Thank you for all your help folks
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
18,030
Reaction score
4,049
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
Are you actually suffering from the no-signal problem on some channels that this is meant to fix?

Looking at Rolf's link the drawing explains all. The diode will drop the voltage by 1/2 a volt going upwards and presumably it has sufficient capacitance to pass the satellite signals downward without a problem. I would guess that the connector on offer is made up from two separate adaptors with a diode hidden inside.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
35,758
Reaction score
8,640
Points
113
Age
60
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Apologies for being slightly late in answering.

I've got a couple of them in the van, one has a label saying it is a lightning suppressor and so I assume it is a quick blow fusible link.
 

dankargo

Specialist Contributor
Joined
May 11, 2014
Messages
731
Reaction score
459
Points
63
Age
34
Location
Brentwood, UK
My Satellite Setup
90cm Motorised
My Location
Brentwood
Is it only the Sky UK channels that are affected with the No signal issue which requires this adaptor?
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
35,758
Reaction score
8,640
Points
113
Age
60
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
What channels are missing from your lineup ?

All receivers can have a 'no signal' flag up, and for a number of reasons. S ky boxes (especially earlier non HD receivers) had/have common failure of the tuners and power supplies, as a result of cheap build quality, whch would give the same 'no signal' warning.

The connector is supplied (at least the one I've seen) to suppress a large voltage travelling from dish to receiver. Though the best advice is always to disconnect - all - equipment before a lightning storm approaches and ride it out without television.
 
Last edited:
Top