What the... OK, this is stupid...

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,216
Reaction score
7,464
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
OK, following my Penta installation on my balcony with a very short cable run to the receiver, I have been having problems with strong satellites, in that the signal reading was reading way below what it should have been. At the same time the weaker satellites have been stronger than they ever have been, so this rules out bad alignment... So, it looks like the strong satellites, combined with a short cable run is overloading the tuner.

To test the theory, I have tuned in to 19.2E NHK World transponder, which is breaking up(!) and the signal (SNR) jumps in and out of lock. However, after I put a wet cloth over the LNB, the signal jumps to 46% and the picture is stable.

How can I reduce the signal on the strongest satellites without affecting the weaker ones? Is there an attenuator of some sort I can use? I could use a 20m cable run I guess but I really want something more intelligent than this....

Help!
 

Attachments

  • DSCN3202.jpg
    DSCN3202.jpg
    453.9 KB · Views: 87
  • DSCN3204.jpg
    DSCN3204.jpg
    332.1 KB · Views: 102
  • DSCN3206.jpg
    DSCN3206.jpg
    482.2 KB · Views: 99

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
17,500
Reaction score
3,604
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
The only way I can think of is to replace the LNB with one having a wider signal acceptance without overloading - although what that might be I have no idea!

Are you sure the weaker signals wouldn't disappear with an attenuator?

EDIT

Having had a ponder I seem to remember that Invacom LNBs have greater signal handling capabilities. But - *ouch* - the cost.
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,216
Reaction score
7,464
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
PaulR said:
The only way I can think of is to replace the LNB with one having a wider signal acceptance without overloading - although what that might be I have no idea!

Are you sure the weaker signals wouldn't disappear with an attenuator?

I have a Titanium 0.1dB LNB lying around but I haven't tried it. All I know is that it was a worse performer than my Black Ultra.

I don't know what effect a signal attenuator would have on already weak signals. Really I'd want an equivalent of a zenner diode (from my distant college days)... if the signal is over x dB then attenuate it. If below x dB then don't touch it....
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
17,500
Reaction score
3,604
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
Perhaps, using lateral thinking, you need to go for a "deafer" LNB?

Zener diodes, eh? Unless you're going to to use the avalanche curve to control an active feedback of AGC in some manner they're just DC devices. Or were you just hypothesising...
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,216
Reaction score
7,464
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
I was just hypothesising :) Just need something to act as a "current" limiter. Actually, I did find a way to "increase" the signal and that's to move the dish out of alignment...!

I will try the deafer LNB and see what happens...
 

aceb

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
1,521
Reaction score
818
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Prof Tuner 7301 /
1.25m Gibertini + Inverto B.Ultra/C1W, Moteck H180, 68.5E-67W Ku/C-Band /
1.8m Precision PF + ESX241/Inverto Black Pro, 66E-63W Ku/C-band /
2.4m Fortec Star+Titanium C1W/Pride plate, 49E-58W
My Location
Sussex
Wet flannel on a servo? :p
 

sonnetpete

Grumpy Old Moderator and quiz inquisitor..
Staff member
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
8,673
Reaction score
3,309
Points
113
Age
70
Website
wordpress.com
My Satellite Setup
Laminas 1.2M fibre dish with an IBU, on a Clarke Tech USALS motor, covering 57E - 24.5W to an Octagon SX88. Displayed on a 20" Dyon LED TV.

Seperate 80 cm dish on 28E with a Humax Freesat for SWMBO.
Free Sat V8 meter. Sony Bravia 46" LCD, Sony BluRay and Home Cinema.
My Location
Normandy, France
CJ, on my TD88 NHK comes in at 71% SNR. However, I have 28.2°E at focus on that dish, with a lot of channels at 99% SNR and they've never shown any sign of breaking up. Is the AGC on the Uno somehow disabled?
 

Mickha

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
5,638
Reaction score
668
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
1.2M Channel Master, 1224 motor, VU+ Duo 2
My Location
North West
You could just try mis-aligning your dish, having it point a few degrees out, to weaken the signal, using your receiver to nudge it slightly.
 

strs65

Regular Member
Joined
May 13, 2006
Messages
688
Reaction score
297
Points
63
Age
56
My Satellite Setup
Decoders: VU+ Uno, DR.HD F15
DVB cards: TBS6983, TBS 6925
Dish 1: Tecatel 1.10m
LNB1: Smart Oxid
Motor: Amiko DM3800
Dish 2: Gibertini 125L, with actuator
LNB2: Invacom QDF-031
My Location
Greece (Crete - Chania)
Captain Jack said:
OK, following my Penta installation on my balcony with a very short cable run to the receiver, I have been having problems with strong satellites, in that the signal reading was reading way below what it should have been. At the same time the weaker satellites have been stronger than they ever have been, so this rules out bad alignment... So, it looks like the strong satellites, combined with a short cable run is overloading the tuner.

To test the theory, I have tuned in to 19.2E NHK World transponder, which is breaking up(!) and the signal (SNR) jumps in and out of lock. However, after I put a wet cloth over the LNB, the signal jumps to 46% and the picture is stable.

How can I reduce the signal on the strongest satellites without affecting the weaker ones? Is there an attenuator of some sort I can use? I could use a 20m cable run I guess but I really want something more intelligent than this....

Help!

I had similar problems on 19.2E (and somewhat less on 1W), where the strong signals of 1KR/1L/1M were overloading the system when I was using an Inverto Black Ultra LNB, and literally destroying the signal of 1H, which is a low signal satellite in my region (actually the situation was worse than this, the problem was apparent across the spectrum, not only on 1H). I replaced the Inverto with a Smart Oxid and the problem disappeared...
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,216
Reaction score
7,464
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Interesting. What's this LNB like compared to Black Ultra? Looks like it's not expensive so could give it a go.
 

strs65

Regular Member
Joined
May 13, 2006
Messages
688
Reaction score
297
Points
63
Age
56
My Satellite Setup
Decoders: VU+ Uno, DR.HD F15
DVB cards: TBS6983, TBS 6925
Dish 1: Tecatel 1.10m
LNB1: Smart Oxid
Motor: Amiko DM3800
Dish 2: Gibertini 125L, with actuator
LNB2: Invacom QDF-031
My Location
Greece (Crete - Chania)
Only slightly worse in sensitivity (something like 0.3dB worse SNR by my estimation), and yet not at all expensive! I seldom miss my Inverto...
 

lanab

ASBO Club Member - Persona non grata
Joined
Feb 11, 2012
Messages
121
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
52
My Satellite Setup
1.20m Offset, Azbox ME
My Location
Sweden
Buy attenuator to put between LNB and box..
 

strs65

Regular Member
Joined
May 13, 2006
Messages
688
Reaction score
297
Points
63
Age
56
My Satellite Setup
Decoders: VU+ Uno, DR.HD F15
DVB cards: TBS6983, TBS 6925
Dish 1: Tecatel 1.10m
LNB1: Smart Oxid
Motor: Amiko DM3800
Dish 2: Gibertini 125L, with actuator
LNB2: Invacom QDF-031
My Location
Greece (Crete - Chania)
My DR.HD F15 acts as a great attenuator when it is off and feeding the TBS6925 from the loop through! Really, I'm not joking here... :)
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
31,962
Reaction score
7,223
Points
113
Age
57
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
strs65 said:
My DR.HD F15 acts as a great attenuator when it is off and feeding the TBS6925 from the loop through! Really, I'm not joking here... :)

I would suggest a passive two way splitter in line with the existing cable run. It will add about 4dB to the loss, doesn't introduce (m)any nodes/harmonics/slope/noise and is easily removed.
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
CH definately has the best solution imo ..
..but its odd that the problem appears to be AGC related ..
Firmware issue in the receiver ??
perhaps it was inadvertantly modified or even disabled in a recent firmware edition..

rgds
VS
 

sonnetpete

Grumpy Old Moderator and quiz inquisitor..
Staff member
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
8,673
Reaction score
3,309
Points
113
Age
70
Website
wordpress.com
My Satellite Setup
Laminas 1.2M fibre dish with an IBU, on a Clarke Tech USALS motor, covering 57E - 24.5W to an Octagon SX88. Displayed on a 20" Dyon LED TV.

Seperate 80 cm dish on 28E with a Humax Freesat for SWMBO.
Free Sat V8 meter. Sony Bravia 46" LCD, Sony BluRay and Home Cinema.
My Location
Normandy, France
Vipersan said:
Firmware issue in the receiver ??
perhaps it was inadvertantly modified or even disabled in a recent firmware edition..

I don't know which image CJ is using but I haven't seen any mention of the same problem on the VIX forum. I wonder if a reset and reloading the image would make any difference?
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,216
Reaction score
7,464
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
I do have another receiver (General Satellite 9300) to try this on, so will be good to see if that exhibits a similar problem.

Wonder if my receiver is just faulty...? The image I am using is the VIX 2.3 on the latest kernel (3.1?).
 
A

archive10

Guest
Hmm, this is interesting.
On my CM180 with a BUQ, I was worrying about the 2A and EB1/Eutelsat 28A strength being too much contrast for the original 2D signals.
But I never had any probs with overloading.
(I have used three different boxes, including FaxSat and Samsung low-cost box, but only the Foxsat sits directly on the output of the LNB - the others go through at least one F-coupler and a wallplate.)

I'd try your spare box just to see if it's the receiver.
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,216
Reaction score
7,464
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Tried the spare box this morning and it was absolutely fine - so it looks like the Uno is the problem :( Going to investigate this before investing money in LNBs etc...
 

digi247

In the Green Room
Joined
Mar 24, 2009
Messages
722
Reaction score
426
Points
63
Location
NW
My Satellite Setup
see sig
My Location
UK
Just a thought to try might be a good idea to open the Uno and remove and reseat the Plug & Play tuner see if it improves any
 
Top