What to do - multisat?

Nisatman

Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2012
Messages
23
Reaction score
4
Points
3
Age
59
My Satellite Setup
Octagon1008se,humax fox sat,sky hd box, comag receivers. 60cm sky dish, 90cm with 9e,13e,19e,28e plus 1.2m with c/ku band.
My Location
Co down n.ireland
I have expand ed my fixed dish setup to include the following:
28 East ,
9,13,16,19,23 East on a single 90cm dish
39 and 42 on a single 80 cm dish
5west on a single 80cm dish
These are all fed thro a 10/1 diseqc switch. My question is I would prefer to feed into 1 sat receiver, but more bouquets are offered via dedicated receivers/cam/card arrangements. Is it ossicle to control multiple receivers through a master receiver. Eg. My main receiver is an octagon, I wanted to get a fransat sub with receiver and a bulsacom receiver and sub..... But it seems to mean .... Many separate remotes etc.... Is there a straightforward way? One word answers ok!!
Thanks
 

mariust5

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Dec 8, 2005
Messages
507
Reaction score
120
Points
43
Age
46
My Satellite Setup
Cristor Atlas 100HD , motorised 1.1 Triax on Stab H-H
My Location
hastings , uk
I don't think there is a one word answer for all of that .

Fransat do a Cam so you can sort that one out , I think Bulsat can be read in Irdeto readers but you need to investigate more ... so basically if you can get a box that reads both your cards , youre in business .
Otherwise each card with it's own box with it's own remote ... no box can control other boxes .
 

Captain Jack

Retired human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,822
Reaction score
8,008
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Vivacom on 45e do an nds cam
 

hairybadger

Bricoleur
Joined
Jul 20, 2012
Messages
1,412
Reaction score
783
Points
113
Location
46.1N 6.4E
My Satellite Setup
see sig
My Location
near Geneva, Haute-Savoie, France
You can get universal remotes for controlling multiple devices: I have a Logitech Harmony for example, that drives up to 7.
 

Nisatman

Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2012
Messages
23
Reaction score
4
Points
3
Age
59
My Satellite Setup
Octagon1008se,humax fox sat,sky hd box, comag receivers. 60cm sky dish, 90cm with 9e,13e,19e,28e plus 1.2m with c/ku band.
My Location
Co down n.ireland
Since I asked my question, my main receiver has packed in , the octagon no longer works, red light flashing, no other sign of life! Obviously I am a bit sad about this, and I hope a few of the contributors would provide some thoughts and guidance? The octagon wasn't that old , about 2,5 years. Just to provide a bit of a picture of what I enjoy doing, I enjoy a bit of dx 'ing, but I would have the satellite hardware resource that vipersan does. I do like to get foreign channels etc.,free to air...(mainly), the mcas on the octagon allowed some extras. I'm actually not a big watcher of tv per se rather more of a case of hey look at the number of channels I can get, I trust there are many like minded individuals out there?

So I suppose I would like a receiver, which is sensitive, for dxing, blind scan, the ability to add a cam, or 2, plus the ability to insert a card into a multi reader. Now having read and followed some of the hard core contributors to this forum I noted a good few have the tbs PC Card, and then add software which seems to permit a wider range of broadcasting options to be received? I should probably say my PC is still running Xp, and I am reasonably PC literate and a big plus is that my PC is already connected to tv. Any thoughts / steers / hints/ would be very well received as I want to get the right receiver as a replacement. In terms of budget, it is limited and at a push might stretch to 250.
Thanks.
 

Captain Jack

Retired human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,822
Reaction score
8,008
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
You can get a Dr HD receiver or a TM5402 (same box) and are super sensitive so are brilliant for DXing. Pc cards are more versatile but I don't own one..
 

A nonymous

Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2006
Messages
3,586
Reaction score
913
Points
113
I have used a Skybox F5 which used to blind scan quite quickly so that may be a good option for DXing, although i used to use my old trusty Technomate TM 1000 for that :D

As for your first question, you will need a receiver that has two dedicated CAM slots.

Bulsat now uses Bulcrypt. It used to use Irdeto II but i think that is being phased out. You will need to check with who ever you buy the card off if a CAM (Conditional access module) is available for Bulcrypt. If you can get 45e it may be worth getting the Bulgarian Viacom package. Its cheaper than Bulsat and comes with a dedicated Viacom NDS cam.

You will also need a Fransat CAM if you wish to use your Fransat card as it uses AESKeys which are not known at this time so even if you use a Viaccess receiver it still won't work unless its a proper certified Fransat one.

Nano
 
Last edited:

Nisatman

Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2012
Messages
23
Reaction score
4
Points
3
Age
59
My Satellite Setup
Octagon1008se,humax fox sat,sky hd box, comag receivers. 60cm sky dish, 90cm with 9e,13e,19e,28e plus 1.2m with c/ku band.
My Location
Co down n.ireland
I had the Tim 5402 on my possible list, does it have ci+ feature which seems to be more prevalent. Will it recognise a 10/1 diseqc switch by opticum? Certainly seems to get good press in sensitivity stakes. Thanks for the replies.
Nisatman
 
Top