wireless access point

tomthebomb1968

Regular Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2008
Messages
693
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Age
52
My Satellite Setup
VU+ Duo 250gig/ DreamElite BH 1.3.2 Multiboot

Dreambox 500s-(clone) / DM-600

Relook 400s 160 Gig-/SifTeam 1.93 e enigma

Foretec 90cm Dish with Nikkai Diseqc Motor- 2 sky+ receivers fixed 28.2 east.
My Location
Newtownabbey, near Belfast, Northern Ireland
I also have a little query that maybe someone can sort out. I have my wireless router hard wired to my dreambox via ethernet cable in my living room and have USB dongles on all the computers in the house to access the net, I find this works very well for me. What i want is to put my second Dreambox in the sitting room and have it on the home network also, was thinking I could share my local card from the living room to it. I have a spare wirelees router at hand, can this be configured to work as a wireless access point to talk to my original router?
 

harpdog

Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2004
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
72
tomthebomb1968 said:
I also have a little query that maybe someone can sort out. I have my wireless router hard wired to my dreambox via ethernet cable in my living room and have USB dongles on all the computers in the house to access the net, I find this works very well for me. What i want is to put my second Dreambox in the sitting room and have it on the home network also, was thinking I could share my local card from the living room to it. I have a spare wirelees router at hand, can this be configured to work as a wireless access point to talk to my original router?

yes alsong as your cs network is configured properly. since i do not know your provider I canot tell u what card sharing config to use. do a search here for cardsharing+provider card type
 

tomthebomb1968

Regular Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2008
Messages
693
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Age
52
My Satellite Setup
VU+ Duo 250gig/ DreamElite BH 1.3.2 Multiboot

Dreambox 500s-(clone) / DM-600

Relook 400s 160 Gig-/SifTeam 1.93 e enigma

Foretec 90cm Dish with Nikkai Diseqc Motor- 2 sky+ receivers fixed 28.2 east.
My Location
Newtownabbey, near Belfast, Northern Ireland
harpdog said:
yes alsong as your cs network is configured properly. since i do not know your provider I canot tell u what card sharing config to use. do a search here for cardsharing+provider card type

Thanks for your reply m8,I will be using cccam but I think i will be able to sort out that end, what do I need to do to my 2nd wireless router to make it a wireless access point? Cheers
 

dig deep

Prince of Birthdays
Staff member
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
8,481
Reaction score
395
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
Dream7020 and AZ Elite and a few DM800
My Location
Sweden
wireless access point

Just put that into Google and U will find some good ideas :)
 

tomthebomb1968

Regular Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2008
Messages
693
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Age
52
My Satellite Setup
VU+ Duo 250gig/ DreamElite BH 1.3.2 Multiboot

Dreambox 500s-(clone) / DM-600

Relook 400s 160 Gig-/SifTeam 1.93 e enigma

Foretec 90cm Dish with Nikkai Diseqc Motor- 2 sky+ receivers fixed 28.2 east.
My Location
Newtownabbey, near Belfast, Northern Ireland
dig deep said:
wireless access point

Just put that into Google and U will find some good ideas :)

Google seems to be a lot of big contridictions, some saying it can be done easily, some saying it cant, and some others saying it can be done but only with certain routers. Has anyone done it? I have tried configuring my spare wireless router exactly as the one in use but no joy as yet. The spare is a Zyxel P-660HW-T1 and the one in use is one bundled fom S*y. I am convinced it can be done and will post the method if sucessful, as I think a lot of people could be interested in doing this.
 

pgh13

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
1,679
Reaction score
409
Points
83
Age
69
My Satellite Setup
XTrend ET8000, Dr HD 15, PC/twinhan combination. 80cm dish. GBPVR with 2 DTTV cards +hauppauge Media MVP +Raspberry Pi running XBMC
My Location
Midlands UK
Here are a couple of Netgear tutorials.

_http://kbserver.netgear.com/kb_web_files/n101236.asp

Using a router as a wireless access point is usually taken to mean wiring the 2 together to extend the wireless range

What you want to do needs a router that supports bridging.... see here

_http://kbserver.netgear.com/inquira/default.asp?ui_mode=answer&prior_transaction_id=282034&action_code=5&highlight_info=16777291,3,5&turl=http%3A%2F%2Fkbserver.netgear.com%2Fkb_web_files%2FN101503.asp&answer_id=17359694#__highlight
 

tomthebomb1968

Regular Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2008
Messages
693
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Age
52
My Satellite Setup
VU+ Duo 250gig/ DreamElite BH 1.3.2 Multiboot

Dreambox 500s-(clone) / DM-600

Relook 400s 160 Gig-/SifTeam 1.93 e enigma

Foretec 90cm Dish with Nikkai Diseqc Motor- 2 sky+ receivers fixed 28.2 east.
My Location
Newtownabbey, near Belfast, Northern Ireland
:-bighappy


Got it sorted, well my m8 did it for me. Used the info from here. He used the practical example and not the instructions.
_http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Wireless_Bridge
 
Top