WTD: 2.4m Fortec Star (Or similar)

kingkad

Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2011
Messages
54
Reaction score
20
Points
8
My Satellite Setup
3.8m Prodelin Offset.
My Location
London
Hi Guys

I've got an urge to try out a smaller dish for cband and i've heard mixed reviews about the maplins fortecstar dishes but want to try one if anyone has one lying around...

Let me know
KK
 

Hixxy1

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
457
Reaction score
111
Points
43
My Satellite Setup
DM800/7020Si/7000S, VU+ Duo, Skybox F3 & F5, TM1000D, Skystar 2 DVBdream, Triax TD110, Darkmotor, Inverto Black, Hotbird 13 Zone 2 MK 4, 28.2 Zone 1 MK4
My Location
East Midlands
I've heard mixed reports about the fortecstar dishes. Some people say they're complete trash. Others say they work well if you know how to align/bend the petals correctly.
I personally haven't had any experience with them though. Just purely hearsay :)
 

Huevos

Satellite Freak
Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
6,005
Reaction score
1,263
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
57E to 58W, C-band and Ku, DVB-S2, 4:2:2 and blindscan.
My Location
38.5ºN, 0.5ºW
Hixxy1 said:
I've heard mixed reports about the fortecstar dishes. Some people say they're complete trash. Others say they work well if you know how to align/bend the petals correctly.
Well you are never going to here an installer telling you they are good. Absolutely horrid. Completely unstable and almost impossible to adjust. Once set up, the slightest breeze and they wobble like a jelly.
 

A nonymous

Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2006
Messages
3,586
Reaction score
913
Points
113
They aren't too bad for C band, but if you want it for Ku band i would forget it and buy a decent 1.8m dish as it will perform better.

Nano
 

hairybadger

Bricoleur
Joined
Jul 20, 2012
Messages
1,370
Reaction score
779
Points
113
Location
46.1N 6.4E
My Satellite Setup
see sig
My Location
near Geneva, Haute-Savoie, France
nano said:
They aren't too bad for C band, but if you want it for Ku band i would forget it and buy a decent 1.8m dish as it will perform better.
Would you mind explaining to me why they're OK for C-band but not Ku? I thought that C-band was more demanding :)
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
17,529
Reaction score
3,641
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
hairybadger said:
hairybadger, on 19 Apr 2013 - 13:02, said:
Would you mind explaining to me why they're OK for C-band but not Ku? I thought that C-band was more demanding :)
C band transmissions require a larger dish to collect signals, so they're more demanding in that respect, but the lower frequency of C band compared to Ku band have a longer wavelength and so can tolerate greater inaccuracies in the shape of the dish. They can also tolerate mesh dishes with a larger hole in the mesh which can significantly reduce windage problems.
 

Costactc

Regular Member
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
811
Reaction score
763
Points
93
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
3m channel master mesh-24" vonweise actuator-ps1 x2 lnbf(L)-pansat ap3500 positioner-x2 premium III-vu+solo2.
2.4m fortec solid-24" vonweise actuator-esx 241 lnbf(c)-vbox 7 positioner- dm800.
1.2m fortec-24"sj actuator-invacom snh-031--tm 5402 m3.
My Location
Canada
I installed a 2.4m Fortec solid last Spring and I have to differ with all the above posts. I use it exclusively for ku band with an offset lnb-jsc322-2 and there aren't any tp on my arc which I do not scan in. Today I am installing an invacom twf-031 flange with 120 feed horn to maximise the signal quality on this prime focus dish. When you have gale winds any dish will move and my Fortec has endured many of those without any issues. As of now, almost all tp on my arc scan in at around 85-99% signal quality and I will report back once I have finished installing my new feed.
 

Huevos

Satellite Freak
Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
6,005
Reaction score
1,263
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
57E to 58W, C-band and Ku, DVB-S2, 4:2:2 and blindscan.
My Location
38.5ºN, 0.5ºW
Costactc said:
I installed a 2.4m Fortec solid
Solid in what way? The OP says a Maplin Fortec star. That is paper thin steel dish in 6 sections that is prone to distortion.
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,478
Reaction score
8,185
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors

Hixxy1

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
457
Reaction score
111
Points
43
My Satellite Setup
DM800/7020Si/7000S, VU+ Duo, Skybox F3 & F5, TM1000D, Skystar 2 DVBdream, Triax TD110, Darkmotor, Inverto Black, Hotbird 13 Zone 2 MK 4, 28.2 Zone 1 MK4
My Location
East Midlands
PaulR said:
C band transmissions require a larger dish to collect signals, so they're more demanding in that respect, but the lower frequency of C band compared to Ku band have a longer wavelength and so can tolerate greater inaccuracies in the shape of the dish. They can also tolerate mesh dishes with a larger hole in the mesh which can significantly reduce windage problems.
Thanks Paul. Couldn't have put it better myself :D
 
Top