Zenega CD1004iS Boot problem

hsarp72

Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2008
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
48
My Satellite Setup
ZENEGACD1004is,N70,XPS
My Location
UAE
Hello all,

I am Dish TV user, using "Zenega CD1004iS". Past few days I am having trouble with booting this setup box. It starts with very dim and fast blinking orange light, slows down after sometime and and finally ends up with proper green light. This complete process takes about 5-10 minutes, which is quite frustrating. I consulted the experts and they advised me to re-install the software/firmware.
Can anyone help me with it? Is it possible doing it at home and how can we do it step by step.
Thank you for all those willing to help me.
-Hsarp
 

shabeerpasha

Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2004
Messages
23
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
49
Dear sir,
I hope i was in U A E to help you with this problem,
This problem has nothing got to with software or whatever the dish tv guys arre telling you to do.But this problem is with the SMPS (switch mode power supply).which is inside the receiver ,U should immediately change the power supply board.Now it is only blinking dimly and stabilising after 10 to 15 minutes,gradually it will deteriorate to hours and ultimately it will completely go dead.So please change the power supply or send the box to me .I will repair it and give it to you.iam in bangalore nomail@nomail.com
 

ved

Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2006
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
35
My Satellite Setup
v
My Location
91
hi hsarp

no needs to change power supply.only change power supply filter cap.25v 1000mf.[:p]
 

rightsameer

Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2008
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
35
My Satellite Setup
zenega cd 1004is
My Location
india
hi, im from bombay, india....
thers a problem with my dish tv stb ( zenega cd 1004is)
at the moment its flashing a very dim yellow/orange light continuously for the past 1-2 days. its blank on the tv screen-no dish tv channels or anything for that matter-totally blank.
what can i do to fix this?
why is this happening ?
i think a couple of nights ago there was a power failure in my locality.
PLS HELP !!!
 

ved

Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2006
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
35
My Satellite Setup
v
My Location
91
open your stb cover nd change power suppy filter cpa 25v 1000mf:)
 

rightsameer

Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2008
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
35
My Satellite Setup
zenega cd 1004is
My Location
india
hi thanks a lot ved, but can u be a lil specific....
can anybody do it ? or an electrician ?
 

rightsameer

Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2008
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
35
My Satellite Setup
zenega cd 1004is
My Location
india
yes i have opened the stb, there is one capacitor which is bulging , but it is 10v 1000uF 105 degree C, V9A

as instructed by you i got a capacitor 25v 1000uF SA + 85 degree C, V9

will this work ??? or should i get a 10v one ????
 

ved

Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2006
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
35
My Satellite Setup
v
My Location
91
no problem u can use 25v its better then 10v.
 

rightsameer

Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2008
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
35
My Satellite Setup
zenega cd 1004is
My Location
india
thanks so much ved ! got it done on both my stbs, now they working fine, dish tv ppl are chors, they were asking for rs.650 each to repair,i got it done in 20 bucks
thanx a million bro
god bless
 

hsarp72

Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2008
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
48
My Satellite Setup
ZENEGACD1004is,N70,XPS
My Location
UAE
Dear RigthSameer,

Where did you find that Capacitor? Is it easily available?

-Hsarp
 

hsarp72

Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2008
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
48
My Satellite Setup
ZENEGACD1004is,N70,XPS
My Location
UAE
Another question to you all.

What causes this problem? and how can I avoid it?

-Hsarp
 

shabeerpasha

Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2004
Messages
23
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
49
Dear sir,
its nothing but the capacitors they have used is under valued i.e instead of 16v or 25v they have used 10 v .using 25v caps will solve the problem permanently.
 

hsarp72

Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2008
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
48
My Satellite Setup
ZENEGACD1004is,N70,XPS
My Location
UAE
Is it available easily?
 

vandana

Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2008
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
36
My Satellite Setup
zenega1004is
My Location
india
hi
i want to convert my cd 1004is zenega settop box of dishtv to operate for dth(free to air)
can anybody help me how to convert it in free to air
in the market some technicians are doing it,but i want to do it myself
please help me
 

rightsameer

Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2008
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
35
My Satellite Setup
zenega cd 1004is
My Location
india
hey hsarp

u get them easily in bombay, at lamington road or any roadside electrician will have them, for about 20 , 30 rupees
they will solder it on for u aswel
in dubai im not sure, may be ur local electrical store should have it
 

rightsameer

Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2008
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
35
My Satellite Setup
zenega cd 1004is
My Location
india
and why it happens is , mostly coz of an overload of power, when thers disruption in power supply or voltage fluctuations
 

hsarp72

Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2008
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
48
My Satellite Setup
ZENEGACD1004is,N70,XPS
My Location
UAE
Ok Rightsameer. that shud be helpful. thanks for the info bro.
 

akdesarkar

Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
71
My Satellite Setup
Dish TV, Zenega 1004iS
My Location
India
Hi VED
I understand from your post that u hv idea about circuit of zenega 1004iS. please help me giving following data
1. the satellite tuner ic is used
2. the channel decoder is used
3. the micro controller is used
4. flash ROM ic is used
5. RAM ic is used
Better if you put a circuit diagram if available.
Secondly to convert the zenega 1004iS into a FTA stb hardware is to be changed at all or no or else.
thanks
 

akdesarkar

Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
71
My Satellite Setup
Dish TV, Zenega 1004iS
My Location
India
Hi Ved,
I have not yet reply of my questions yet? I wait yr reply eagerly.
Thanks.
 

akdesarkar

Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
71
My Satellite Setup
Dish TV, Zenega 1004iS
My Location
India
hi
i want to convert my cd 1004is zenega settop box of dishtv to operate for dth(free to air) can anybody help me how to convert it in free to air I want to do it myself
please help me in detail step by step.
Thanks
 
Top