Astra 23.5 reception

dannan

Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2007
Messages
24
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
51
My Satellite Setup
TECHNOMATE1500
My Location
COULSDON
I can recieve the slovak channels fine during the day but around 6pm they start to break up and finally end up with the scrambled channel signal. The German and Dutch channels are good all the time. Does anyone know why this happens?
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
15,303
Reaction score
3,742
Points
113
Age
78
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
They're on Astra 3A, which has a different, weaker footprint into the UK compared to 1D.
Llew
 

dannan

Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2007
Messages
24
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
51
My Satellite Setup
TECHNOMATE1500
My Location
COULSDON
But why would it be so good during the day and not only that, before I had the motorised dish I had the dish pointed permanently on Astra 3 and had no problem at all. Seems the motor is the issue.
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,022
Reaction score
1,427
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,022
Reaction score
1,427
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Adding a motor will attenuate the signal slightly.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
48,685
Reaction score
9,670
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
For starters the Dutch channels are on Astra 1D which puts out such a strong signal you could probably pick it up on a metal dustbin lid!

Shes incredibly strong - a real powerhouse.
 

dannan

Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2007
Messages
24
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
51
My Satellite Setup
TECHNOMATE1500
My Location
COULSDON
Is the colour of the sky something a dish takes into consideration when deciding to shoot up a bit of JOJ then. Come on lads... Why the 6pm fallout?
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,022
Reaction score
1,427
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
There are many factors and I can't remember seeing a definitive answer from the several threads discussing it I'm afraid, simply that it happens. :)
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
48,685
Reaction score
9,670
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Could be several reasons - if the solar illumination of the bird solar sails drops to a critical level then it will switch over to batteries. These may be unable to provide quite the oomph the solar sails give. Totally unnoticed in Germany, but a tiny power drop may be enough to tip you over the digital cliff as you are right on the fringe.

Or it may be at that point the bird moves into an unfavorable position for the UK. Every sat moves around in a figure 8 a few miles across every day so the transmission footprint will move around very slightly.
 
Top