Advice Needed Dakar Rally 2019 feeds??

william-1

william-1

Super Moderator
Staff member
Messages
8,084
Location
Epping Forest
My Satellite Setup
OP Gibertini 100 XP+ Inverto Black Ultra 0.2
(50 east to 45 west)
TM6902HD (A/B switch) Edision Primo S2
88cm Dish +Inverto Black Ultra 0.2
(53 east to 45 west)
Octagon SX88+(A/B switch), Amiko A4K

45cm SpiderboxHD9000
My Location
Epping Forest Essex
Tururu

Tururu

Assembled with recycled parts
Messages
2,540
My Satellite Setup
90cm motorised dishes(98x90)+fixed+multiLNB+24Unicable.
Currently 55 satellites, 61°West to 57°East.

DB800S-HD VU+DUO2, VU+Ultimo4K, TBS5925, OctagonSX88.
Recycled as the owner.
My Location
North of Madrid (28703 Spain) -3Km of IKEA (40.545847, -3.612012).:-)
Dakar TV1 ok.
Dakar TV2... redy.....feed 2..:Y:-rofl2 19:46 GMT+1 OK

Dakar_2019_9-1-2019.jpg
 
Last edited:
jeallen01

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Messages
3,427
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
Posted this first in the "Back to Basics thread" to @sonnetpete , but repeating here as it seems relevant:

Now getting very intermittent video of the Globecast Promos on Dakar TV1 & TV2 on the TM 5402 M3, but the signal level is definitely well down on what it was yesterday - the pictures are pixellating badly and the audio is breaking up.

It the TM is doing this then there's little point in trying here with the SX88!

OTOH I think reception is getting a little better as time goes on - maybe the SNG guys are having trouble with their dish alignments?
 
william-1

william-1

Super Moderator
Staff member
Messages
8,084
Location
Epping Forest
My Satellite Setup
OP Gibertini 100 XP+ Inverto Black Ultra 0.2
(50 east to 45 west)
TM6902HD (A/B switch) Edision Primo S2
88cm Dish +Inverto Black Ultra 0.2
(53 east to 45 west)
Octagon SX88+(A/B switch), Amiko A4K

45cm SpiderboxHD9000
My Location
Epping Forest Essex
The feed was slightly lower yesterday today I have a very low signal & no lock so it looks like GlobeCast have reduced the power of this transponder or something else has changed o_O:N
 
jeallen01

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Messages
3,427
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
The signal levels here from the TD110 are now around 1-2dB down (TM showing around "8.2-8.5dB"/ "60%", FWIW) compared with around 9.5dB yesterday and that's why I suspected SNG uplink issues - but the video and audio have now stabilized on both Feeds,

Edited at 18.55: signals now gone up very slightly to around 8.5-8.6dBs, and stable.
 
Last edited:
jeallen01

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Messages
3,427
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
Now checked the Dakar transponder again whilst it was still live but not transmitting info - same result = SFA!!!:-doh
Just replaced the SX88 connected to the TD110 with the SX88+ - same result on 11047/H/14400 = SFA!
 
nelson_b

nelson_b

Contributor
Messages
1,614
My Satellite Setup
Strong 4375 driving 1.8 C.M. offset + Inverto Black Ultra twin + BSC 421 and Zinwell C band l.n.b.,s - DR HD F15 - TM5302 and Skybox/Openbox M3 - HD receivers.+ other dishes in use - 2.4 CM offset - Alcoa 1.8 P.F. - C.M. 120.
My Location
north west yorkshire
Signal report here in North West - U.K ... using 1.2 Channel master into Dr HD F15

DSC09629-Optimized.JPGDSC09630-Optimized.JPG
 
jeallen01

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Messages
3,427
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
BTW on a "non-sat" point: did anyone see those shots of cars ploughing through deep soft sand that virtually obliterated the vehicles? Terrifying to me - just like fighting a small boat through very high waves!:-wow
 
Last edited:
jeallen01

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Messages
3,427
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
Just replaced the SX88 connected to the TD110 with the SX88+ - same result on 11047/H/14400 = SFA!
Just had a thought = the latest f/w for both Octagon Rx's installed a TP database of around 200 transponders - so, does adding another TP "exceed" the "allowable number of TPs per sat", and thus any additional ones are then ignored?

Or, is it just that the tuners are just relatively "poor" by current "standards"?
 
scopus

scopus

Specialist Contributor
Messages
2,053
My Satellite Setup
Primesat/Famaval 1.8 PF C/ku/Ka, Octagon SX8HD1, SX88, Openbox S3 Mini HD-V8S Freesat V7 HD-V8 Finder, Amiko A4K Combo, Satlook Colour HD Spectrum, Sansui A909 Amp and BOSE Acoustimass speakers for the audio.
My Location
Staffs UK
Just had a thought = the latest f/w for both Octagon Rx's installed a TP database of around 200 transponders - so, does adding another TP "exceed" the "allowable number of TPs per sat", and thus any additional ones are then ignored?

Or, is it just that the tuners are just relatively "poor" by current "standards"?
Delete all the transponders on 10E then run a blind scan see if that cures it...
 
jeallen01

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Messages
3,427
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
Delete all the transponders on 10E then run a blind scan see if that cures it...
Actually, I seem to remember that I did that with the SX88 a couple of days ago - and that made SFA difference!
 
william-1

william-1

Super Moderator
Staff member
Messages
8,084
Location
Epping Forest
My Satellite Setup
OP Gibertini 100 XP+ Inverto Black Ultra 0.2
(50 east to 45 west)
TM6902HD (A/B switch) Edision Primo S2
88cm Dish +Inverto Black Ultra 0.2
(53 east to 45 west)
Octagon SX88+(A/B switch), Amiko A4K

45cm SpiderboxHD9000
My Location
Epping Forest Essex
No signals here yesterday ?
Tonight 11047 H 14400 S2 HD MPEG-4 8PSK
100cm with TM5502HD SQ=70%
88cm with SX88 SQ=56% :)
 
pontiend

pontiend

senile member
Messages
2,628
Location
South Yorkshire
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
south yorkshire
I have had a look for this feed the last couple of days got nothing.Got it tonight. 65%
TBS6983 105cm Dish
10e1.jpg
 

Attachments

william-1

william-1

Super Moderator
Staff member
Messages
8,084
Location
Epping Forest
My Satellite Setup
OP Gibertini 100 XP+ Inverto Black Ultra 0.2
(50 east to 45 west)
TM6902HD (A/B switch) Edision Primo S2
88cm Dish +Inverto Black Ultra 0.2
(53 east to 45 west)
Octagon SX88+(A/B switch), Amiko A4K

45cm SpiderboxHD9000
My Location
Epping Forest Essex
Dakar 2 is FTA
 

Attachments

william-1

william-1

Super Moderator
Staff member
Messages
8,084
Location
Epping Forest
My Satellite Setup
OP Gibertini 100 XP+ Inverto Black Ultra 0.2
(50 east to 45 west)
TM6902HD (A/B switch) Edision Primo S2
88cm Dish +Inverto Black Ultra 0.2
(53 east to 45 west)
Octagon SX88+(A/B switch), Amiko A4K

45cm SpiderboxHD9000
My Location
Epping Forest Essex
Dakar-1
 

Attachments

william-1

william-1

Super Moderator
Staff member
Messages
8,084
Location
Epping Forest
My Satellite Setup
OP Gibertini 100 XP+ Inverto Black Ultra 0.2
(50 east to 45 west)
TM6902HD (A/B switch) Edision Primo S2
88cm Dish +Inverto Black Ultra 0.2
(53 east to 45 west)
Octagon SX88+(A/B switch), Amiko A4K

45cm SpiderboxHD9000
My Location
Epping Forest Essex
Dakar 2019, Stage 5: De Soultrait provisionally fastest,
 

Attachments

jeallen01

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Messages
3,427
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
Well, I finally got the SX88+ to find and record Dakar TV 1 & TV2 - but only after completely deleting the transponder database for 10E and then re-entering the Dakar transponder parameters and then doing a Search! SS 75% & SQ 64%:) Thus it's now about the same as the other Rx's here.

Now found out that if I start with only that transponder in the list, I can select the full Blind Search, and so it is now doing a full search.

BTW: deleting all the transponders and then trying Blind Search doesn't work - left it doing that earlier this afternoon and it hadn'd done/found anything 3hrs later!
 
sonnetpete

sonnetpete

Grumpy Old Moderator
Staff member
Messages
7,277
My Satellite Setup
Laminas 1.2M fibre dish with an IBU, on a Clarke Tech USALS motor, covering 57E - 24.5W to an Octagon SX88. Displayed on a 20" Dyon LED TV.

Seperate 80 cm dish on 28E with a Humax Freesat for SWMBO.
Free Sat V8 meter. Sony Bravia 46" LCD, Sony BluRay and Home Cinema.
My Location
Normandy, France
Got the FTA Dakar feed. No deleting TP's, just rescanned the frequency.

IMG_20190111_201351.jpg
 
jeallen01

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Messages
3,427
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
Got the FTA Dakar feed. No deleting TP's, just rescanned the frequency.

View attachment 122228
Only wish that that had worked for me - did it many times with no success.:-doh

BTW: The Blind Scan I stared just before 19.00 finished and the SX88+ now has about 80 "FTA" channels showing, although not all of them are now transmitting. OTOH, had to rescan 11047/H/14400 without FTA selected in order to find Dakar TV2 because it is now encrypted.
 
william-1

william-1

Super Moderator
Staff member
Messages
8,084
Location
Epping Forest
My Satellite Setup
OP Gibertini 100 XP+ Inverto Black Ultra 0.2
(50 east to 45 west)
TM6902HD (A/B switch) Edision Primo S2
88cm Dish +Inverto Black Ultra 0.2
(53 east to 45 west)
Octagon SX88+(A/B switch), Amiko A4K

45cm SpiderboxHD9000
My Location
Epping Forest Essex
Last edited:
Top