Fransat CI+ and a viewing card - which ones from Amazon.fr

sophie101

Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2015
Messages
224
Reaction score
38
Points
28
My Satellite Setup
* Currently
1 x off set 60cm for 28.2e
1 x 60cm for 5w + 13e + 19.2e
Quad LNBs on each sent to different receivers in different flats.
My Location
belgium
A bit off topic but I can't stop wondering why the French can't follow our German friends and show a lot of channels FTA? They both use dubbed broadcasting so the language shouldn't be a problem for copyright reasons. I'm really glad to be able to enjoy a lot of German programs and I know a lot of French speaking people abroad would like to see French programs.
Hear hear for this. Same goes for the UK channel, which are FTA.

Dutch channels are all encrypted as well both in NL and in BE. Even the DVB-T ones. They locked them down to make us pay with a monthly subscription either on DVB-T or DVB-C. Yet these are all funded by advertisements except for éen canvas ketnet which get/got government funding.
 

Nalleman

Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
258
Reaction score
166
Points
43
Location
Motala Sweden
My Satellite Setup
1,8 Channel Master, Black Pro LNB with CM feedhorn for 28 E which is my main interest when watching TV. VU+ DUO 4K SE, VU+ DUO 2, Octagon SF8008 and Vantage 8000 S and TS receivers. Fixed dishes at: 42 E (0,75 m), 28,2/28,5 E (1,8 m), 19,2 E (1,5 m), 13 E (1,1 m), 9 E (0,7 m), 5 E (1,2 m) and 1 W (0,7 m).
My Location
Sweden
Hear hear for this. Same goes for the UK channel, which are FTA.

Dutch channels are all encrypted as well both in NL and in BE. Even the DVB-T ones. They locked them down to make us pay with a monthly subscription either on DVB-T or DVB-C. Yet these are all funded by advertisements except for éen canvas ketnet which get/got government funding.
The big difference between UK and German channels are that most of the UK channels are on a UK spot beam (which I'm lucky to get in Sweden thanks to a big dish) while the German channels are broadcast covering almost all of Europe.
The Dutch as well as the Nordic countries don't use dubbing which means copyright makes encryption necessary. DVB-T is FTA when it comes to four public service channels (SVT) which everybody who has an income has to pay for (it's like a tax dedicated for public service) and one commercial channel (TV4) at least in Sweden.
 

NunoV

Regular Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2006
Messages
347
Reaction score
33
Points
28
My Satellite Setup
_____Multi-LNB
_____Enigma2_____
___FIBO_55_90_____
__VU Ultimo 4K___
___ViarkSat4K_____
___Octagon8008__
My Location
Portugal

marcouk

Member
Joined
May 15, 2022
Messages
29
Reaction score
9
Points
3
Age
48
My Satellite Setup
Vu+ Uno 4K SE, 1.2M Laminas motorised dish. Primesat 1.3 m dish
My Location
Hull UK
Hi,

I don't think I can get FranSat, if they have blocked all their cards on non-authorised devices.

This will also include a FranSat CI+ module on my Philips TV.

I suspect that this is because my TV does not have HBB thingaMiJih on it, and I wonder if they use this to block FranSat reception based on IP address: My TV does not have network capabilities.

Have they blocked Fransat CI modules, e.g Neomotion, on Dreambox or other unofficial receivers?
Hi
Most tv's (if not all) are CI+ authorised so an official Fransat CA+ cam and card should work fine.
 

Stevenvc19

Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2018
Messages
308
Reaction score
162
Points
43
Age
28
My Satellite Setup
3x Edision Primo S2:
30W
5W
0.8W
4.3E
9E
13E
19.2E
28.2E
My Location
Willebroek Belgium
It's likely that Fransat are looking to provide the transport for this new multiplex to the transmitters too. Along with the channels having appeared on 11138V, there is also a service labelled "DVB-SIS" - this is apparently a relatively new system that allows DTH transmissions to be used to feed DVB-T2 transmitters, it contains T2 multiplex data to allow an identical T2-MI stream to be assembled from the DVB-S2 DTH data at each transmitter site (presumably including decryption) - DVB-SIS - Introduction

This unfortunately means that an additional FTA multistream/T2-MI version of the UHD multiplex becomes unlikely. :(
Link to a powerpoint presentation of the dvb organisation which explaines the use of DVB-SIS.


 

Dggrr

Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2006
Messages
58
Reaction score
60
Points
18
Age
69
My Satellite Setup
VU + Zero, Triax TD88, Technomate TM2600 (Plus CM 1.2 in bits behind the shed)
My Location
SE
This thread prompted me to checkout my Fransat cards.

I currently have 2 Fransat PC6 cards:

1. Pre 4-year life restriction - the rolling Fransat authorisation had expired in March, doesn't seem to want to come back to life in Oscam or in a Neotion/Fransat CAM in an OpenATV VU+ Zero 4K (my only reciever that takes a CAM)

2. A 4-year life card that also expired in March. Has an ETB authorisation which renews annually and is still valid and working. presumably until the current 12 months runs out.

Some other observations:
- in the Neotion CAM the "pay for" Bis channels work for a few seconds (~5) and then degrade to badly broken picture
- In an original HD Fransat HD box, the Bis channels are fine but the TNT channels are not authorised
- The TF Sports 4K channel works with both PC6 cards

The Neotion CAM wants to update but the update failed ("échoué") in my VU+ Zero.

I'm leaving my PC6 card in the Fansat HD box to see if it comes to life.

I've ordered a PC7 from France through Ebay, as was not very expensive.
 
Last edited:

Dggrr

Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2006
Messages
58
Reaction score
60
Points
18
Age
69
My Satellite Setup
VU + Zero, Triax TD88, Technomate TM2600 (Plus CM 1.2 in bits behind the shed)
My Location
SE
- in the Neotion CAM the "pay for" Bis channels work for a few seconds (~5) and then degrade to badly broken picture

The breakup problem was fixed through some Enigma2 settings,

- CI Operation Mode = CI Plus 1.2 and
- High Bitrate Support = Yes

No sign of life on the Fransat authorisations :(
 

mikeisyou

Feed Hunter
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
845
Reaction score
380
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
Octagon SX88+, Static 1.2m Raven Dish (22w to 33e), Motorized Dish (9e to 52e)
My Location
England
I have a Fransat Card and Cam for sale as I can no longer use it because the compatible TV I was using it with is now faulty.
 

sophie101

Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2015
Messages
224
Reaction score
38
Points
28
My Satellite Setup
* Currently
1 x off set 60cm for 28.2e
1 x 60cm for 5w + 13e + 19.2e
Quad LNBs on each sent to different receivers in different flats.
My Location
belgium
I have a Fransat Card and Cam for sale as I can no longer use it because the compatible TV I was using it with is now faulty.
Hi,
Which version is the card and cam?
 

smashingsat

New Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2022
Messages
6
Reaction score
4
Points
3
Age
54
My Satellite Setup
Gilbertini 1.5m dish
Invacom Fiber LNB
3 x Promax CompactMax receivers (for Hotel TV setup)
My Location
Carcassonne, Southern France
The bullet proof option is to buy a cheap Fransat receiver with card, or a Neotion CAM with card. As you probably have surmised, you want a PC7 card and it will be good for 4 years from activation. I bought the Fransat consumer card for 15€ from Acheter un équipement - Fransat and had it sent to a French address. There are also Fransat Pro cards used in hotels and multi-residential buildings which allow for parallel decoding. These are fun ;)
 

sophie101

Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2015
Messages
224
Reaction score
38
Points
28
My Satellite Setup
* Currently
1 x off set 60cm for 28.2e
1 x 60cm for 5w + 13e + 19.2e
Quad LNBs on each sent to different receivers in different flats.
My Location
belgium
The bullet proof option is to buy a cheap Fransat receiver with card, or a Neotion CAM with card. As you probably have surmised, you want a PC7 card and it will be good for 4 years from activation. I bought the Fransat consumer card for 15€ from Acheter un équipement - Fransat and had it sent to a French address. There are also Fransat Pro cards used in hotels and multi-residential buildings which allow for parallel decoding. These are fun ;)
They do look like fun.
 

sophie101

Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2015
Messages
224
Reaction score
38
Points
28
My Satellite Setup
* Currently
1 x off set 60cm for 28.2e
1 x 60cm for 5w + 13e + 19.2e
Quad LNBs on each sent to different receivers in different flats.
My Location
belgium
> and had it sent to a French addres

Ah yes. I missed this part until I tried.
 

Attachments

  • DB539C47-EC49-4100-88BA-0FA6D2D3E2E9.jpeg
    DB539C47-EC49-4100-88BA-0FA6D2D3E2E9.jpeg
    298.1 KB · Views: 13

smashingsat

New Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2022
Messages
6
Reaction score
4
Points
3
Age
54
My Satellite Setup
Gilbertini 1.5m dish
Invacom Fiber LNB
3 x Promax CompactMax receivers (for Hotel TV setup)
My Location
Carcassonne, Southern France

smashingsat

New Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2022
Messages
6
Reaction score
4
Points
3
Age
54
My Satellite Setup
Gilbertini 1.5m dish
Invacom Fiber LNB
3 x Promax CompactMax receivers (for Hotel TV setup)
My Location
Carcassonne, Southern France

sophie101

Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2015
Messages
224
Reaction score
38
Points
28
My Satellite Setup
* Currently
1 x off set 60cm for 28.2e
1 x 60cm for 5w + 13e + 19.2e
Quad LNBs on each sent to different receivers in different flats.
My Location
belgium
4 dvb-s in, and 4 dvb-t out. 4 feeds per box.

So we could do something like:
. BBC1
. BBC2
. TF1 (fransat)
. France 3 (fransat)

I should beed 8 of these boxes for 32 channels. Ouch.

Then send the DVB-T signal down standard coax ( because DVB-T is mostly DVB-C with better error correction) to send around a hotel.
 

smashingsat

New Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2022
Messages
6
Reaction score
4
Points
3
Age
54
My Satellite Setup
Gilbertini 1.5m dish
Invacom Fiber LNB
3 x Promax CompactMax receivers (for Hotel TV setup)
My Location
Carcassonne, Southern France
4 dvb-s in, and 4 dvb-t out. 4 feeds per box.

So we could do something like:
. BBC1
. BBC2
. TF1 (fransat)
. France 3 (fransat)

I should beed 8 of these boxes for 32 channels. Ouch.

Then send the DVB-T signal down standard coax ( because DVB-T is mostly DVB-C with better error correction) to send around a hotel.
It's 4 transponders per box, not 4 channels, so depending on your HD/SD selections, you can easily get 20 channels out of one CompactMax unit. I am running 3 of them and generating 53 channels at the moment, 31 x English, 22 x French, all on the logical channels numbers I choose.
 

Attachments

  • channels 1-30.png
    channels 1-30.png
    47.6 KB · Views: 14
  • channels 31-58.png
    channels 31-58.png
    43.1 KB · Views: 13
Last edited:

rodscha

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
1,331
Reaction score
356
Points
83
Age
68
Location
carcassonne south France(Languedoc)
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
carcassonne south france,700ks south of Paris ,300k N of Barcelona
A bit off topic but I can't stop wondering why the French can't follow our German friends and show a lot of channels FTA? They both use dubbed broadcasting so the language shouldn't be a problem for copyright reasons. I'm really glad to be able to enjoy a lot of German programs and I know a lot of French speaking people abroad would like to see French programs.
French TV has evolved since analogue days!
Nowadays,most English language programs are available in Original Language (VO)
You should choose "sound option"(VF in French/VO in original language :Often English .
Arte offers French & German any time ,plus English or else when appropriate,eg a Japanese or English-language film or program)
Note: without choosing you get the French version!
TF1(our ITV) has many US series,& they offer VO English all the time.
This was a great progress allowed by digital tv,quite a few years ago.
So,films and series come in original sound,UNLIKE on German channels.
Which I think,explains the Multistream /Fransat/ gizmo.
Same goes for Italian channels btw.
 
Last edited:

Nalleman

Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
258
Reaction score
166
Points
43
Location
Motala Sweden
My Satellite Setup
1,8 Channel Master, Black Pro LNB with CM feedhorn for 28 E which is my main interest when watching TV. VU+ DUO 4K SE, VU+ DUO 2, Octagon SF8008 and Vantage 8000 S and TS receivers. Fixed dishes at: 42 E (0,75 m), 28,2/28,5 E (1,8 m), 19,2 E (1,5 m), 13 E (1,1 m), 9 E (0,7 m), 5 E (1,2 m) and 1 W (0,7 m).
My Location
Sweden
French TV has evolved since analogue days!
Nowadays,most English language programs are available in Original Language (VO)
You should choose "sound option"(VF in French/VO in original language :Often English .
Arte offers French & German any time ,plus English or else when appropriate,eg a Japanese or English-language film or program)
Note: without choosing you get the French version!
TF1(our ITV) has many US series,& they offer VO English all the time.
This was a great progress allowed by digital tv,quite a few years ago.
So,films and series come in original sound,UNLIKE on German channels.
Which I think,explains the Multistream /Fransat/ gizmo.
Same goes for Italian channels btw.
Yes I'm aware of that.
I use the original sound on Tivusat channels which offers this option.
The German channel One (public service) also offers the original sound (mostly English) on some programs even if it's FTA.
 

sophie101

Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2015
Messages
224
Reaction score
38
Points
28
My Satellite Setup
* Currently
1 x off set 60cm for 28.2e
1 x 60cm for 5w + 13e + 19.2e
Quad LNBs on each sent to different receivers in different flats.
My Location
belgium
German and French channels often have the VO audio carried. We depend on it.
Also local DVB-T francophone channels in Belgium carry the films in VO. (e.g La UNE , la Deux, and la Trois)
 
Top