Life With A DM 800

B16MCC

Dreambox Gimp & Coder
Joined
Nov 16, 2005
Messages
1,562
Reaction score
8
Points
0
Age
48
My Satellite Setup
2 Dreamboxes..........
---------------------------------------------
--- DM 8000 HD PVR & DM 800 HD ---
Motek SG2100 & Triax 80cm Dual LNB
------ Fixed Dish 28e Quad LNB -------
---- Sly HD Full & 24" Apple iMAC ----
My Location
/var/tuxbox/config
Hi peeps, I've just placed the order for my DM800. I'll document my findings and how it performs over the coming week.

I'll be covering image flashing, network setup, installing cam emu's, motor setup, transponder scans, installing a HDD, and streaming. I intend to make a kind of idiots guide specifically for the DM800 as the HD may attract new people. Watch this thread for news and updates.

OK so, first and foremost, there's a new DreamUp version to suit the DM800, V1.3.3.0. You can download it here. _http://www.dream-multimedia-tv.de/download/DreamUP.zip.

What's in the box.
DM800 HD PVR
Manual
Power Supply Unit (Including Euro Style Mains Lead)
Standard Large Remote - I think Dream have dropped the small remote now.
2 AA Batteries
1 DVI to HDMI cable
1 Composite to Scart Adapter
Alternate back plate for T and C tuners

First Power On
Woah ! The tiny OLED looks awesome ! (Kinda silver looking)


Regards
MCC
 

andyman502

Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
47
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
32
My Satellite Setup
80cm Dish 0.3 lnb
Motek SG2100a Motor
Compro PCI DVB-S Card
Athlon 2600+ 1.5GB Ram XP Pro
iMac 2.4 10.5.2 :)
My Location
North West UK
Thanks for that. I will be following this thread closely it seems as though you will have a setup identical to mine, 80cm dish, motek motor and DM 800.

Mine has just been delivered and im trying to set it up now. ;)

Andy
 

rato

International Administrator
Joined
Jul 11, 2005
Messages
1,429
Reaction score
0
Points
38
Age
51
My Satellite Setup
DM800; Nokia 9800s; Nokia 9902S w/T-Rex 3.66
w/ Inverto IDLP-40TL +
Technisat 33 dish; Pace DS430N + Humax HDCI-2000 w/
Gibertini OP 1.25m dish w/Inverto 0.3dB. & Invacom 0.2dB. w/ Spaun SAR 411;
CAS 3;FUN7; SkyStar2; AltDVB;
My Location
Setubal, Portugal
Great idea B16MCC. :) If you need any help, I've got mine up and running since last week:cool:
 

B16MCC

Dreambox Gimp & Coder
Joined
Nov 16, 2005
Messages
1,562
Reaction score
8
Points
0
Age
48
My Satellite Setup
2 Dreamboxes..........
---------------------------------------------
--- DM 8000 HD PVR & DM 800 HD ---
Motek SG2100 & Triax 80cm Dual LNB
------ Fixed Dish 28e Quad LNB -------
---- Sly HD Full & 24" Apple iMAC ----
My Location
/var/tuxbox/config
Jesus christ, I remember now why I stopped using DreamUp. Its fraught with glitches and problems. Firstly, it will not let me set any network settings, everything is greyed out ! . Second when I connect using null modem only it connects and I select file to flash then it sits there saying 'Calculating Checksum' and it never goes any further.

Anyone any tips on these issues please ? I've always flashed my DM7025's by the web interface, but I don't think the DM800 has one, as there's no front panel buttons to access it.
 

andyman502

Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
47
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
32
My Satellite Setup
80cm Dish 0.3 lnb
Motek SG2100a Motor
Compro PCI DVB-S Card
Athlon 2600+ 1.5GB Ram XP Pro
iMac 2.4 10.5.2 :)
My Location
North West UK
Mate what I did was use that dream up software to get it into serial / http mode, then just navigate to to the IP it shows on the little display on the box. I uploaded from there with firefox.

Im struggling to get CCCam working though :(

I set the IP settings with the default image that comes with the box, used a static IP and it seems to keep it when in serial mode.
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,077
Reaction score
1,453
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
I always use Flashwizard, never had problems with it.
 

andyman502

Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
47
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
32
My Satellite Setup
80cm Dish 0.3 lnb
Motek SG2100a Motor
Compro PCI DVB-S Card
Athlon 2600+ 1.5GB Ram XP Pro
iMac 2.4 10.5.2 :)
My Location
North West UK
Can anyone get this thing to work with a Sly FTV card??

Ive been trying all day with no luck??

Andy
 

B16MCC

Dreambox Gimp & Coder
Joined
Nov 16, 2005
Messages
1,562
Reaction score
8
Points
0
Age
48
My Satellite Setup
2 Dreamboxes..........
---------------------------------------------
--- DM 8000 HD PVR & DM 800 HD ---
Motek SG2100 & Triax 80cm Dual LNB
------ Fixed Dish 28e Quad LNB -------
---- Sly HD Full & 24" Apple iMAC ----
My Location
/var/tuxbox/config
Thanks for the tips guys. I'm up and running. Ok so here's what I've done so far.

When trying to flash using DreamUp I met several problems.
Firstly, I could not setup network addresses in Dreamup, they were greyed out.
Secondly , when trying to flash using serial null modem only the process stops at 'Calculating Checksum'

I have no idea at this time whats causes either of these problems.

Check out this seperate post I made on flashing the DM800 via the network.

So, image flashed and working great.
Reboot the box and run through the setup wizard. There's a good trick the box does to help you get the output to your TV setup correctly. It swaps from DVI to Scart to Component , every 5 seconds until you select one by pressing ok. This way you should see an output evetually depending how you connected it to your TV. I used the included DVI- HDMI cable and it works fine on my Sony Bravia.

Next thing I did was to connect it to my router, enable DHCP in the DM800 and fire up the blue panel.

The blue panel using Gemini server shows everything the same as the DM7025. So first things first, I installed CCcam 2.09 and started it. Worked just fine first go.

I've set the tuner configuration to simple, motor. I've entered my lat and long using google earth to find it. Although I already had this in my DM7025 so I know my motor and mount is bang on.
I'm currently scanning 28e because thats where the motor was when I disconnected it from my DM7025.

After scanning 28e I had a play around with a few channels. I've setup my CCcam to access the card share on my DM7025. Bingo Sly One HD straight on ! HEHE, Brilliant ! Its a nice picture at 720p.

OK just swung round to 19E no problem , it ran the motor and found the sat great. Scanning now.
 

andyman502

Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
47
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
32
My Satellite Setup
80cm Dish 0.3 lnb
Motek SG2100a Motor
Compro PCI DVB-S Card
Athlon 2600+ 1.5GB Ram XP Pro
iMac 2.4 10.5.2 :)
My Location
North West UK
Thats what I did. What image are you running?

Im really struggling to get CCcam working, it wont detect my Sly card?

Anybody any ideas on this??

Or do I have a faulty unit??

Cheers Andy
 

B16MCC

Dreambox Gimp & Coder
Joined
Nov 16, 2005
Messages
1,562
Reaction score
8
Points
0
Age
48
My Satellite Setup
2 Dreamboxes..........
---------------------------------------------
--- DM 8000 HD PVR & DM 800 HD ---
Motek SG2100 & Triax 80cm Dual LNB
------ Fixed Dish 28e Quad LNB -------
---- Sly HD Full & 24" Apple iMAC ----
My Location
/var/tuxbox/config
I'm running Gemini2 v3.50 I always use Gemini images, I've no reason to look elsewhere.

CCcam 2.09 installed exactly as it would on my DM7025. I then made a quick config file for it to share from my DM7025 on my LAN. At the moment I have no local in my DM800 although I'm gonna be getting Sly HD Full sharing with a few mates. The existing shares I do have managed to clear Sly One HD at 3 hops. Performance was poor ofcourse, but it tests proof of concept.

andyman502, have you installed a config for CCcam ? I'm not sure if it needs a standard config to read a local card. Just install the cam and config from the blue panel and see what happens.
 

andyman502

Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
47
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
32
My Satellite Setup
80cm Dish 0.3 lnb
Motek SG2100a Motor
Compro PCI DVB-S Card
Athlon 2600+ 1.5GB Ram XP Pro
iMac 2.4 10.5.2 :)
My Location
North West UK
Ive got it working now. CCcam does not work with local Sly cards at the moment. I had to use newcs and get CCacm 2.09 to connect to that. It works this way.

Im using the e2board image but dont really like it. I might try and get it working with gemini.

Andy
 

HB13DISH

Retired Mod
Joined
Aug 13, 2007
Messages
3,764
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
75
My Location
Middle East - Israel
Nice thread. Will be very helpful also for the 8000 HD users when it finally becomes available.
I would love to see some high res pictures of the inside of the box, perhaps when you open it to put a HDD.
Please concentrate on the parts and their part numbers where possible.
Thanks. :)
 

B16MCC

Dreambox Gimp & Coder
Joined
Nov 16, 2005
Messages
1,562
Reaction score
8
Points
0
Age
48
My Satellite Setup
2 Dreamboxes..........
---------------------------------------------
--- DM 8000 HD PVR & DM 800 HD ---
Motek SG2100 & Triax 80cm Dual LNB
------ Fixed Dish 28e Quad LNB -------
---- Sly HD Full & 24" Apple iMAC ----
My Location
/var/tuxbox/config
I'll try and take some photo's cos my hdd is coming tomorrow. Andy what's the issue with cccam and sky cards ? How is it different to a dm7025 ?
 

rato

International Administrator
Joined
Jul 11, 2005
Messages
1,429
Reaction score
0
Points
38
Age
51
My Satellite Setup
DM800; Nokia 9800s; Nokia 9902S w/T-Rex 3.66
w/ Inverto IDLP-40TL +
Technisat 33 dish; Pace DS430N + Humax HDCI-2000 w/
Gibertini OP 1.25m dish w/Inverto 0.3dB. & Invacom 0.2dB. w/ Spaun SAR 411;
CAS 3;FUN7; SkyStar2; AltDVB;
My Location
Setubal, Portugal
Working here great with Nabilo Black Hole & CCcam 2.09:). It has been stable for 2 days. My Gemini Image was crashing after 24hrs uptime:confused
 

andyman502

Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
47
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
32
My Satellite Setup
80cm Dish 0.3 lnb
Motek SG2100a Motor
Compro PCI DVB-S Card
Athlon 2600+ 1.5GB Ram XP Pro
iMac 2.4 10.5.2 :)
My Location
North West UK
Rato with a local sky card? I tired that image and it didnt work??

The issue is that my local sky card in the reader will not work on CCcam 2.09 standalone without using newcs as well.

I have it working now, but its not ideal.

Andy
 

rato

International Administrator
Joined
Jul 11, 2005
Messages
1,429
Reaction score
0
Points
38
Age
51
My Satellite Setup
DM800; Nokia 9800s; Nokia 9902S w/T-Rex 3.66
w/ Inverto IDLP-40TL +
Technisat 33 dish; Pace DS430N + Humax HDCI-2000 w/
Gibertini OP 1.25m dish w/Inverto 0.3dB. & Invacom 0.2dB. w/ Spaun SAR 411;
CAS 3;FUN7; SkyStar2; AltDVB;
My Location
Setubal, Portugal
andyman502 said:
Rato with a local sky card? I tired that image and it didnt work??

The issue is that my local sky card in the reader will not work on CCcam 2.09 standalone without using newcs as well.

I have it working now, but its not ideal.

Andy

My idea is to install my Infinity USB card reader to the DM800 to have in Phoenix mode and read the Sly card and my MTV card(SIM card slot), but I'm having a struggle here to get it to recognize the Infinity on the USB port:-comp
 

B16MCC

Dreambox Gimp & Coder
Joined
Nov 16, 2005
Messages
1,562
Reaction score
8
Points
0
Age
48
My Satellite Setup
2 Dreamboxes..........
---------------------------------------------
--- DM 8000 HD PVR & DM 800 HD ---
Motek SG2100 & Triax 80cm Dual LNB
------ Fixed Dish 28e Quad LNB -------
---- Sly HD Full & 24" Apple iMAC ----
My Location
/var/tuxbox/config
Rato , could you confirm please your Sky Card is working with CCcam 2.09 ?
 

CROSSBONES

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jul 23, 2005
Messages
2,003
Reaction score
187
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
1.2m channel master on a jeager 1224 motor. 55cm fibo Gregorian. VU solo2.
My Location
S.Wales
Be carefull using your cards in CCcam on the 800 as it`s said to be cooking cards.Its a sci driver problem, we will have to wait for new CCcam release which has DM800 sci drivers.


Sky U.K cards work in DM 800 slot with newcs 160 perfectly :)
 

rato

International Administrator
Joined
Jul 11, 2005
Messages
1,429
Reaction score
0
Points
38
Age
51
My Satellite Setup
DM800; Nokia 9800s; Nokia 9902S w/T-Rex 3.66
w/ Inverto IDLP-40TL +
Technisat 33 dish; Pace DS430N + Humax HDCI-2000 w/
Gibertini OP 1.25m dish w/Inverto 0.3dB. & Invacom 0.2dB. w/ Spaun SAR 411;
CAS 3;FUN7; SkyStar2; AltDVB;
My Location
Setubal, Portugal
B16MCC said:
Rato , could you confirm please your Sky Card is working with CCcam 2.09 ?
Sly Card:

Working: CCcam 2.09/Newcs1.60b:)
Not working: CCcam 2.09(standalone) :mad:
 

B16MCC

Dreambox Gimp & Coder
Joined
Nov 16, 2005
Messages
1,562
Reaction score
8
Points
0
Age
48
My Satellite Setup
2 Dreamboxes..........
---------------------------------------------
--- DM 8000 HD PVR & DM 800 HD ---
Motek SG2100 & Triax 80cm Dual LNB
------ Fixed Dish 28e Quad LNB -------
---- Sly HD Full & 24" Apple iMAC ----
My Location
/var/tuxbox/config
OK thanks for that. I think I'll put my Sly HD card in the 7025 and just run it at hop1 on my DM800 for now. Thanks for the tips on this guys.
 
Top