multivision on dreambox??

abr 1

Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2008
Messages
26
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
82
My Satellite Setup
dreambox 7000s
panasonic plasma 42"
samsung dsr9500
samsung lcd 27"
My Location
Staffordshire
i have just installed 1.2 channel master dish to replace my 1 mtr dish.
to be honest there's not very much improvement at all.
but i have had to set the E&W limits and then adjust the sats again.
when checking 13 deg i found i could not get a good signal on multivision
about 46%
i have rescanned hotbird and tried to scan the transponder (11662 v 3/4 27500) but again very low signal and therefore it will not lock on.

using dreambox 7000s mgcamd 1.29.
i know that france 4 and 5 no longer AU.

i have a second receiver a samsung dsr 9500 i can receive multivision ok with this
i use a golden interstar twin lnb

anyone any ideas what i may try now??
 

mhku

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
4,712
Reaction score
20
Points
38
My Satellite Setup
TM Nano ~ sg2100
My Location
Midlands
What's the weather like? Is it just Multivision on 13E that has a poor signal? What is the SNR on MTV Two?
 

abr 1

Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2008
Messages
26
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
82
My Satellite Setup
dreambox 7000s
panasonic plasma 42"
samsung dsr9500
samsung lcd 27"
My Location
Staffordshire
thanks for the reply mhku

the weather is not bad really sun shining at the moment
on MTV TWO the snr 85% cyfra + obvious not picture as its seca
 

mhku

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
4,712
Reaction score
20
Points
38
My Satellite Setup
TM Nano ~ sg2100
My Location
Midlands
I get a higher SNR on Multivision than MTV2 (not that it helps you). Dreamboxes don't have the greatest tuners.

Are you using gotoXX or storing each sat position as you find and get a lock on them?
 

abr 1

Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2008
Messages
26
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
82
My Satellite Setup
dreambox 7000s
panasonic plasma 42"
samsung dsr9500
samsung lcd 27"
My Location
Staffordshire
using 18" actuator 36v seperate positioner msp200r

and yes i am storing the sats.

at the moment multivision is down on my samsung as well so obvious a key change,but that won't help me if i can't get good signal
 

mhku

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
4,712
Reaction score
20
Points
38
My Satellite Setup
TM Nano ~ sg2100
My Location
Midlands
Is the dish 100% correctly setup (zero position and the Clarke belt)? The Samsung may be more forgiving than the Dreambox.

Are you using Gemini? If you are there are settings for the LNB:

Menu > setup > service searching > satellite configuration
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,091
Reaction score
1,462
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
If you are using a 1.2m channel master with the correct feedhorn and a decent C120 LNB, the signal should be brilliant from your location. There must be something wrong with your setting up. Can you show us some pictures?
 

keano

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2004
Messages
164
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
2.4mtr Channel Master Dish,
Fracarro Penta 85cm Dish,
64cm Traix Dish with 4 multi LNB'S
Sky HD,
Dreambox 800,
Dreambox 500,
IPBOX 250,
Sky HD and a mad wife !
My Location
Manchester UK
Hi Arthur,

M8 don't like to tell you how to suck eggs, you've been in this game long enough but something is not right with your dish setup.

Even with the poor performing db7000 with its dreadfully weak tuner you should still have more than enough with a CM120.

Putting seeing pictures to one side, what did the samsung give you in quality readings ?

You should be getting over 80% no probs.

Oh just thought, if you want to get you hands on a CM feedhorn let me know m8.
 

eminem120176

Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2005
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Vu+duo, DM500, SS2, Sky+HD, 1.2m dish motorised
My Location
Nottingham
I had the same problem with Multivision and also with a few german channels on 19.2. The problem existed for ages until one day I unpluged the dect phone next to the DM500. They all work fine now.
 

michael01707

Regular Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2007
Messages
130
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Age
37
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.2m and 1.8m, Vantage VT-X221TS CI and 8000s, Technomate V-Box II, 18" Superjack actuator
My Location
London
Yes, I have had this problem, always around the 11600s. For example ERT World, Bloomberg on Hotbird and True Movies etc on Eurobird 1. Changing to good quality cable such as Webro WF100 sorted this out for me.

I should note that the receiver was quite a distance away from the base unit of the phone.
 

abr 1

Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2008
Messages
26
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
82
My Satellite Setup
dreambox 7000s
panasonic plasma 42"
samsung dsr9500
samsung lcd 27"
My Location
Staffordshire
well thanks to everyone who has posted

i installed the 1.2CM to replace the 1 mtr dish i had the signal quality is not a great deal better with the CM than my other dish

i am using the same lnb as before a twin golden interstar i have not changed the cable didn't see the need to.
i did the job yesterday so that it would not interfere with the football at the w/e:)
i have not got a feedhorn,(@keano may take you up on that offer m8 if i can get it sorted)
thought i would see what improvement if any i would see with changing dishes so no c120 lnb.
the samsung was showing multivision until it went down today,but the signal bar on the samsung shows a good signal it does not give a %reading

i do have some strong signals on 13deg 84% on some V and H transponders,just not multivision 11662/27500/3/4 this is 45/50%

the important thing is at least i do have good signals for the football on 19deg east and 1 deg west.

i think that the advice that the dish is not quite set up correct is probably true,and i will have to recheck this ,will do it now next week weather permitting

thanks to all;)
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,091
Reaction score
1,462
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Get yourself the Channel Master feedhorn and a good quality C120 LNB, you will not achieve good results with a standard LNBF.
 

Burnham Beech

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
1,033
Reaction score
49
Points
48
You will only get a very marginal increase in performance with a Channel Master feedhorn and a C120 LNB - for the vast majority of installations it is not worth the expense and bother. That is assuming you are using a decent LNB.

If you can't get multivision on dreambox look for another cause - follow up on some of the earlier suggestions.
 

abr 1

Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2008
Messages
26
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
82
My Satellite Setup
dreambox 7000s
panasonic plasma 42"
samsung dsr9500
samsung lcd 27"
My Location
Staffordshire
@Burnham Beech

i am using a golden interstar twin lnb
i do have a smart titanium single lnb 0.2 but the signal was lower when i tried this.

i have checked all bolts this morning just to check they are all tight and have just checked Vertical channels on nilesat
(seems to be difficult to receive so i have read)
i get 73% on nilesat on these V channels

but not enough signal strength on multivision , but i know we will soon be losing this soon any way.

i do receive good signals for the football on 19deg E 1deg W.
and i'm sure now that the signal is better with the 1.2 CM than the 1 mtr dish it's replaced.

thanks
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,091
Reaction score
1,462
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Burnham Beech said:
You will only get a very marginal increase in performance with a Channel Master feedhorn and a C120 LNB - for the vast majority of installations it is not worth the expense and bother. That is assuming you are using a decent LNB.

If you can't get multivision on dreambox look for another cause - follow up on some of the earlier suggestions.

Sorry I disagree there, using the Channel Master matched feedhorn can make a big difference. However, there is certainly something else wrong with the set up, or perhaps as has been suggested, an outside influence affecting the signal.

Bear in mind that Multivision and most of the Hotbird channels can be received very well with a Sky minidish.
 

HB13DISH

Retired Mod
Joined
Aug 13, 2007
Messages
3,764
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
75
My Location
Middle East - Israel
What is the MV FTA promo channel like?
 

abr 1

Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2008
Messages
26
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
82
My Satellite Setup
dreambox 7000s
panasonic plasma 42"
samsung dsr9500
samsung lcd 27"
My Location
Staffordshire
HB13DISH said:
What is the MV FTA promo channel like?

i get no picture on this and the signal strength is 46/50%

on the samsung which gets its signal from the same dish i get good signal on MV promo but at the moment AU is not working.
when the keys are available from m6 music black i get good pictures for a couple of minutes on multivision but this is on the samsung ,not the dreambox
 

HB13DISH

Retired Mod
Joined
Aug 13, 2007
Messages
3,764
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
75
My Location
Middle East - Israel
abr 1 said:
i get no picture on this and the signal strength is 46/50%

on the samsung which gets its signal from the same dish i get good signal on MV promo but at the moment AU is not working.
when the keys are available from m6 music black i get good pictures for a couple of minutes on multivision but this is on the samsung ,not the dreambox

Have you tried reflashing your 7000S?
Try the latest image 4.3.1
 

dago

Regular Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2004
Messages
190
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
71
hi m8, whats te signal quality on thor? as thats the highs sat, as long
as you are perfectly aligh, all other sats should be fine.
regards.
 

abr 1

Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2008
Messages
26
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
82
My Satellite Setup
dreambox 7000s
panasonic plasma 42"
samsung dsr9500
samsung lcd 27"
My Location
Staffordshire
dago said:
hi m8, whats te signal quality on thor? as thats the highs sat, as long
as you are perfectly aligh, all other sats should be fine.
regards.

thanks for the interest on thor the signal ranges from 75/85% bbc world 89%
 
Top