hairybadger

Bricoleur
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
see sig
My Location
near Geneva, Haute-Savoie, France
Hi,
I have a solo2 I've been using for many years; I guess I bought it around 2013. Since very shortly after I bought it I've used openvix on it, kept more or less up-to-date. I haven't found it particularly stable but it's been OK. I avoid the Openvix support forum...

I'd like to replace it with another enigma box. Could anyone please suggest a modern equivalent, not necessarily vu+? I'm a bit lost amongst all the possiblities. I have no use for dual tuners at the moment but I'd like to have them. I don't have a 4K TV; sound is handled by a Yamaha AV receiver (of similar vintage to the solo2 but does the trick).

thanks!

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Budget ?

I would avoid a combo device if only because of the price.
Whilst they have advantages, I find the need to switch with one remote when I could just change the AV input on the TV to terrestrial less of a pain.

hairybadger

Bricoleur
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
see sig
My Location
budget... reasonable. I don't need to buy the cheapest models but I'm not going to spend 1000 on it :). I rarely watch terrestrial TV and when I do it's via internet from the fibre provider STB. I have a lot of remotes and don't get on very well with multiremotes :D.

Mickha

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
1.2M Channel Master, 1224 motor, VU+ Duo 2
My Location
North West
Personally I'd look at a 4K, Enigma 2 based, receiver, with an internal hard drive, a lot seem to have a caddy system, so you can quickly change a hard drive.