Skybox LAN Tool

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,618
Reaction score
8,316
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
I Dump the Image and all Ancillary Files for both my F3s at least Monthly and (because I like Redundancy & Diversity) do it both by USB and by using the dedicated LAN Tool that can be downloaded from the Manufacturer's site.

Now I've binned Windows completely, I have discovered that the LAN Tool will not open in Linux Mint using WINE.

Filezilla (Other FTP packages are available) is known not to work (a. I Googled it and b. I've tried it) as well.

Not too bothered, as I've still got the USB method, but I was a bit surprised the Tool isn't Linux friendly as the F3 Firmware is Linux based (albeit protected from tinkering)!



Has anybody had any success at getting the Skybox LAN Tool to run under Linux? If so, how?
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,286
Reaction score
7,508
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Is WINE the only thing available in Linux? I use VMWare Fusion in Mac which runs everything Windows (including the OS obviously)
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,618
Reaction score
8,316
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
AFAIK, CJ.

And WINE happily runs some other quaint hobby bits and bobs with .exe heritage (Bell Ringing Simulator; On-Board Diagnostics for my Car).

But I hope I'm wrong and someone will prompt an alternative!
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,618
Reaction score
8,316
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Bump.

Still no joy.

Tried PlayOnLinux and it crashed!
 

sonnetpete

Grumpy Old Moderator and quiz inquisitor..
Staff member
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
8,753
Reaction score
3,369
Points
113
Age
71
Website
wordpress.com
My Satellite Setup
Laminas 1.2M fibre dish with an IBU, on a Clarke Tech USALS motor, covering 57E - 24.5W to an Octagon SX88. Displayed on a 20" Dyon LED TV.

Seperate 80 cm dish on 28E with a Humax Freesat for SWMBO.
Free Sat V8 meter. Sony Bravia 46" LCD, Sony BluRay and Home Cinema.
My Location
Normandy, France
Strange, Filezilla loads and connects to my VU+ ok (see screenshot). Though I've yet to try and transfer files. Edit : Under Linux Mint

Screenshot.png
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,618
Reaction score
8,316
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
It's an issue with all Skybox/Openbox: Summat to do with using an esoteric Port, apparently, and requires the Custom Tool. Which only works on something called "Windows".

I'll just carry on using USB Dumping instead.
 

Piltdownpaul

No.1 Spike Milligan Fan
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
2,010
Reaction score
685
Points
113
Age
53
My Satellite Setup
Skybox F3,Icecrypt S3500HDCCI, Technomate TM3000D,TM5400Ci Super, Samsung HD HDD Freesat Box,60cm dish for freesat, TD88 dish on a Skybox F3 57E to 45W.
My Location
South Leicestershire (Fleckney)
I'd have a tinker myself Tivu, but i installed Linux 16 Petra Cinnamon last night and had real problems with bugs. I'm back on Mint 15 now as xbmc and google earth run so much nicer. I just dont fancy a crash at the moment.
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,618
Reaction score
8,316
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
You must be a mind reader: I made a Live USB Stick of Petra yesterday and was going to play with it after my 1st Jan Data Backups.

Maybe I won't!
 

Piltdownpaul

No.1 Spike Milligan Fan
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
2,010
Reaction score
685
Points
113
Age
53
My Satellite Setup
Skybox F3,Icecrypt S3500HDCCI, Technomate TM3000D,TM5400Ci Super, Samsung HD HDD Freesat Box,60cm dish for freesat, TD88 dish on a Skybox F3 57E to 45W.
My Location
South Leicestershire (Fleckney)
Even my firefox would freeze after 5 mins each time i rebooted. I messed about until midnight then off it came ,normal service resumed.
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,618
Reaction score
8,316
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Well it's supposed to be the stable release now, but hey-ho.

Cheers for the Heads-Up.
 

Piltdownpaul

No.1 Spike Milligan Fan
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
2,010
Reaction score
685
Points
113
Age
53
My Satellite Setup
Skybox F3,Icecrypt S3500HDCCI, Technomate TM3000D,TM5400Ci Super, Samsung HD HDD Freesat Box,60cm dish for freesat, TD88 dish on a Skybox F3 57E to 45W.
My Location
South Leicestershire (Fleckney)
I'm sure the updates will take care of it in time. I'll stick with mi mint for the moment. I'm a bit of an update junkie, the skybox is updated twice weekly on average. usb styley.
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,586
Points
113
My Location
uk
Sorry to hijack this thread and I hope you find a fix for the problem, when the lan tool is working on windows is it possible to mess with the usb stick recordings from the laptop/pc please ?
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,618
Reaction score
8,316
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
It's just an FTP tool and from recalling its features before I binned the dreadful Windows O/S (VHS vs. Betamax? The worst one won), it can only "see" the same system files and ancillaries that can be dumped to USB.

ie Not Recordings ................
 

Piltdownpaul

No.1 Spike Milligan Fan
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
2,010
Reaction score
685
Points
113
Age
53
My Satellite Setup
Skybox F3,Icecrypt S3500HDCCI, Technomate TM3000D,TM5400Ci Super, Samsung HD HDD Freesat Box,60cm dish for freesat, TD88 dish on a Skybox F3 57E to 45W.
My Location
South Leicestershire (Fleckney)
I havent got my skybox connected to my network at the moment.
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,618
Reaction score
8,316
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Got mine connected via Homeplugs now. Brill.
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,586
Points
113
My Location
uk
Thanks I was just thinking if it was possible to get the 4.2.2. feeds to pc without removing the usb stick saves getting up.
 

Piltdownpaul

No.1 Spike Milligan Fan
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
2,010
Reaction score
685
Points
113
Age
53
My Satellite Setup
Skybox F3,Icecrypt S3500HDCCI, Technomate TM3000D,TM5400Ci Super, Samsung HD HDD Freesat Box,60cm dish for freesat, TD88 dish on a Skybox F3 57E to 45W.
My Location
South Leicestershire (Fleckney)
No ethernet plugs spare at the moment and i cant be bothered to use it wirelessly seeing as i dont use any of the "apps" installed.
 

Piltdownpaul

No.1 Spike Milligan Fan
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
2,010
Reaction score
685
Points
113
Age
53
My Satellite Setup
Skybox F3,Icecrypt S3500HDCCI, Technomate TM3000D,TM5400Ci Super, Samsung HD HDD Freesat Box,60cm dish for freesat, TD88 dish on a Skybox F3 57E to 45W.
My Location
South Leicestershire (Fleckney)
Got mine connected via Homeplugs now. Brill.
No plaice for a flatfish,have you no sole or are you flounder ing.!
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,618
Reaction score
8,316
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Thanks I was just thinking if it was possible to get the 4.2.2. feeds to pc without removing the usb stick saves getting up.


Nope. It definitely won't do that.
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,618
Reaction score
8,316
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
No plaice for a flatfish,have you no sole or are you flounder ing.!


Oddly enough, I hake to tell you this, but I anticipated the Fishy stuff even as I Posted.

But I've haddock enough of this herring-do.
 
Top