1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The DirecTV SL3K4NR1-03

Discussion in 'KA Band section' started by Vipersan, Sep 2, 2014.

  1. Chris1979

    Chris1979 Ad eundum quo nemo ante iit.

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,539
    Likes Received:
    5,623
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    Gibertini OP150, Motek H180 H2H.
    Amiko S100 SMR99G H2H.
    Technomate 88cm Mesh SMR99G H2H.
    Sky Mini Dish on 28.2°E as Freesat.
    ISS 1.0m, Triax TD88, Gibertini 125.

    Dr HD D15, TBS6983, TM5302 x2, Vu Duo.
    My Location:
    South Somerset.
    Standing looking at the lnb, with my back to the dish, I have the direct TVs lnb on the right hand side of the prime focus lnb, with a dialectic plate, (made from old bank card) in the nearest lnb hole as my HV 22khz on, And I use the right hand side as my LR 22khz off.

    The bbc makes it 18ghz and really needs to be on one cable only.

    On bbc is 20ghz and you would have a second cable for this.
     
    Archived-1 likes this.
  2. Trust1

    Trust1 Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    1,164
    Trophy Points:
    93
    My Location:
    Nijmegen Netherlands
    A way back , but maybe usefull ( or allready mentioned)
    About that inverted scanning with standard receiver .
    Go in to the lnb settings to C-band settings and select the option where you can set your own LOF .
    At the F16 (CT5000) and the TM5402 HD M3 this option has two places for LOF , I made them both 20450 .
    And thats it , all frequencies are shown correct .
    At C band the scale is also inverted .
     
    Chris1979, scopus and John like this.
  3. mapperuo

    mapperuo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    346
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    My Satellite Setup:
    1.8m Raven - 30w to 42e
    1.3m & 1.2m Motorised Dishes - 30w to 42e
    My Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    Hi guys,

    Finally had some time this weekend to try the SL3K4NR1-03 and SUP 2400's I bought ages ago but I'm lost....


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    Ive got the SUP between the LNB and the PC according to the right direction written on it, am using a LO of 17250 and have 22HZ ON.

    Whats confusing Im seeing KU channels from 19e.. Which I guess is good as it confirms

    A ) LNB is working
    B ) The dish is still pointing at 19e during LNB swap.


    So... What is the missing piece of the puzzle? The channel I was trying to find was Unire Sat at 18766 H / 3110 as I assumed it would be stronger than ITN Newsnet
     
  4. Trust1

    Trust1 Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    1,164
    Trophy Points:
    93
    My Location:
    Nijmegen Netherlands
    In the middle of that triple unit is the Ku circulair lnb .
    I stuffed that port with lead to stop the Ku signal .
     
  5. mapperuo

    mapperuo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    346
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    My Satellite Setup:
    1.8m Raven - 30w to 42e
    1.3m & 1.2m Motorised Dishes - 30w to 42e
    My Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    Ill go find some Aluminum tape and cover it up. Do you think it's just a case of the Ku band overwhelming the Ka then?
     
  6. John

    John Enthusiast.

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    2,660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    North Nottinghamshire.
    My Satellite Setup:
    Elite 2.2 PF - CM1.8 - CM1.2 - Gibertini 1.25.
    Ku - Ka -C & Ext C.
    PC cards-TM5402 receivers.
    Promax FSM.
    My Location:
    North Nottinghamshire.
    Yep, block the centre Ku port up really good with some lead as Trust says otherwise the results can get very confusing. Also remember that the SL3 will be working in circular mode if you have left it un-modded. When on 19.2°East the strongest signal on Horizontal is the horse racing feed at 18.766 H and also look for the ITN Newsnet signal at 18.556V.
    It's a bit of a steep learning curve using an SL3 but interesting. Good luck with it.
     
  7. Trust1

    Trust1 Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    1,164
    Trophy Points:
    93
    My Location:
    Nijmegen Netherlands
    I tried that also at first but still the Ku signal came in .
    You have to stuff the channel full.
    That unit receive Ka and Ku at the same time , so maybe the chosen Ka horn is not properly adjusted to 19.2 or your SUP is ot working .
    Did you modified the SUP ?
     
  8. mapperuo

    mapperuo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    346
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    My Satellite Setup:
    1.8m Raven - 30w to 42e
    1.3m & 1.2m Motorised Dishes - 30w to 42e
    My Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    I'll buy some lead shot and fill the hole and see if that helps.

    SUP wise yes it is unmodified, Is it fairly easy to do if needed?
     
  9. Trust1

    Trust1 Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    1,164
    Trophy Points:
    93
    My Location:
    Nijmegen Netherlands
    Its neccesary to let switch the SLK to Ka A-band
     
  10. John

    John Enthusiast.

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    2,660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    North Nottinghamshire.
    My Satellite Setup:
    Elite 2.2 PF - CM1.8 - CM1.2 - Gibertini 1.25.
    Ku - Ka -C & Ext C.
    PC cards-TM5402 receivers.
    Promax FSM.
    My Location:
    North Nottinghamshire.


    Forget the lead shot idea, they will drop straight down onto the pcb antennas and cause a few problems. Look for some off cuts of roofing lead flashing type stuff and make a good thick precise fit plug. You can finish it off with a bit of sticky back ali tape though. If you have not modified the sup then you wont be on the 18GHz part of the Ka band. The dedicated thread to modding the SL3 and the sup's are required reading and as to how difficult it is to modify the sup, well lets say there's not too much involved but is a bit intricate, needs a very steady hand and a correct size soldering iron and a good level of soldering skills
     
    Chris1979 likes this.
  11. mapperuo

    mapperuo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    346
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    My Satellite Setup:
    1.8m Raven - 30w to 42e
    1.3m & 1.2m Motorised Dishes - 30w to 42e
    My Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    This one? Modding the SUP-2400

    Looks doable for me. I was under the impression though you could access KA A by just sending 22hz to the LNB per the following thread SL3 lnb port assignment
     
    Chris1979 likes this.

Share This Page

Click here to support our sponsors