Win 10 is a free upgrade for the first year

A nonymous

Reaction score
Thats me sorted then, Thats 4 pcs i can get free updates for :D

I have been running the Windows 10 Beta release for a few months on my laptop. If the final release is as good as the beta its should be OK. Its a damn site faster and less clunky than Windows 8 is anyway.

Nano

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
As someone to whom Windows is little more than a distant and underwhelming memory, what's the gig with Windows 9? Has it really jumped from 8 to 10 or have I been asleep?

skomedal

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
This and that
My Location
thule
Might be good news, when is win 10 due for release?

Will try the free upgrade on one of my buckshee PCs running win7 atm. if not satisfied can wipe the hdd with killdisk and reload win7.

Regards

timo_w2s

Retired Mod
Reaction score
Website
www.timo.me.uk
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
Oh this is great news. I need to get a new laptop this year but really wanted to wait for Win 10 but it looks like this could be a good compromise and I can put up with Win 8.1 for a while.

As someone to whom Windows is little more than a distant and underwhelming memory, what's the gig with Windows 9? Has it really jumped from 8 to 10 or have I been asleep?
They decided to skip Windows 9 and go straight to the big numbers.

I just hope they don't go the Firefox way or we'll be on Windows 826 within a few years...

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Im not sure my at least 7 year old Dell 5150 (XP) will last much longer...

Ive got a copy of win 8.1 running unregistered on an old laptop - its ok and seems to work fine apart from the nag screen on start up - which is shut down with a couple of clicks.